[Sunday, Jun. 01, 2003 @ 3:10 p.m.]
[ We Didn't Have To Moo For The Cattle Call. ]

My mom and I were getting ready for the cattle call downtown when my younger brother calls: he's not going. He'd already hung up when I phoned him back to convince him that he is coming, and that we're picking him up at noon. I dressed like I was going to a nightclub, but more tasteful, and mom wore her brown and blonde wig; it really looks good on her. At noon, we drove over and picked up my younger brother and made it to 525 Wardlaw ave, Crescent Fort Rouge United Church. It was only 12:40pm and there was a line up outside, but we were close enough that it didn't feel like we'd be there forever. My mom was ahead of me, and Leah, the casting director asked her if she was related to me, and I stepped over and said, "Can't you see a resemblence?", motioning back and forth at our faces: my mom's got an "in" now. I caught my younger brother smile a bit as his turn came to hand in his form and snapshot. He's camera-shy, unlike myself, the camera-hog, which I get from my mom. I wanted to see the joy that I get, going on cattle calls, auditions and such, but he had his usual defeatist-face creeping in, and walked away assuming that he won't get called and that he wouldn't do the J-Lo/Richard Gere flick even if they asked him. On the upside, he said that he'd be likely casted as a cop or something in a uniform, since he's stocky looking. He's short, but he has a tasmanian devil quality brewing.

I was told that I'd get four days work as a cop or something: I'm in like Flynn, as they say. This'll be my third time wearing a uniform: I just love wearing a costume and being all made up.

The film, Special Agent: FBI was what I auditioned for, and it's starring Jean Smart from, "Designing Women" who played Charlene, now playing Candice DeLong, a real person who caught the Uni-bomber and solved some Tylenol thing-a-ma-jig. When they call you to do background, you know you weren't picked for a role, but they got to see me. I use to be cheesed-off about this kind of thing, but as long as I'm getting put out there, then I'm okay with it.

I get a call from T, that's her dragking name, and she's set up the dates for when I'm coming out to Vancouver to see her perform. I'm all excited and after I hang up the phone, I'm watching TV, and this horrible weight strikes my belly: I'm suppose to be availible for the TV movie this month, and I don't even know when they'll need me. I can't phone and ask, since I could be called at anytime, and they themselves don't know yet. I want to do both. With any luck, the cop role will be soon before I have to head out to Vancouver, to cavort with my fellow lesbians, smoke copious amounts of weed and watching women dressed as men lip-syncing to men's songs. I feel like when I was a kid and christmas is just around the corner. Now to figure out who I'll have to stay with while I'm there.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]