[Tuesday, Jun. 22, 2004 @ 11:37 a.m.]
[ Shoulda, Coulda, Woulda, But Didn't. ]

Share with us a time or two when you didn't say what you wanted to say.... What did you really want to say? What do you think kept you from doing so and how did the situation make you feel?

It was the time when my dad was driving me to work. My bus on Sunday wouldn't operate until 11am and I had to start at 7:30am, so dad offered to drive me there. Anyway, we're half way there when he starts grumbling. He does most of the venting in the family, but this was about gay marriages and he was on a roll, which nauseated me. I couldn't take it anymore when I said, "Stop talking about it. You're offensive." He takes offense to this, but he's offended that he can't pollute my ears and sensibilities with his offensive remarks about gays. He starts in on me, harassing me about why he can't say what's on his mind, as if he never does. Then, while he's driving, he takes his eyes off the road to yell, "Are you a fag?"

How do you respond to someone so homophobic and so offensive? How could I come out to him when he's responded to me like this? I just sat there and stared at the road, hoping he'd drop the subject, but I think he just wanted to shut me up with that remark.

When I reflect on that ugly moment, I imagine myself yelling back, "Yeah, so? I'm a lesbian and I've fucked several women, dad!", and I'd imagine grabbing him by the collar and shaking him violently, just so he wouldn't attack me. I always imagine coming out to him in a dramatic way. There's no way I could imagine him accepting it. There's no way I could live with him knowing, for I know he'd make my life miserable. I even unsent him a letter that I have tucked away in my wallet and unsent him one here just to vent.

I almost have to laugh though. As much as he absolutely loathes gays and lesbians, especially gays, he has one in his family, under his roof. I don't go around thieving and murdering people, as he seems to think gays do. If I were his son, he'd probably beat me up. I know this because he was rough on my older brother when we were children. Once, my older brother was using the gardening shears and almost cut my younger brother's hand. It didn't go through, but the next thing I know, I see my older brother running for his life, looking back in fear and my dad hot on his tail, followed by tons on yelling and beating. It's a wonder my older brother never visits and makes up lame-ass excuses to stay away. Too much baggage will overflow here. No matter what you want to say to dad, dad isn't interested, then he bitches about how nobody listens to him. It's almost funny that he says I never listen. Well, it's because I block it out. You get to a point where you can't tolerate it anymore, so you find a way to deal with a situation. Well, dad can go on thinking the way he feels about gays, for my sex life is suffering because I don't want to open his personal can of whoop-ass. I can't wait to earn enough money and move from this province.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]