[Monday, Jun. 21, 2004 @ 11:44 a.m.]
[ Standing in Fake Snow. ]

Well, yesterdays movie shoot was a long day and my legs are killing me. I was hoping it would be the scene I auditioned for, but we were outside in the sun with our coats on. Luckily it wasn't too hot out, it even rained at one point too. They had fake snow made of paper and potato flakes, which we all got all over our boots. It's always a crap shoot to see who else'll show up for background work. Some other actors I've know where there, and some faces that recognised me but were unfamiliar to myself. We were held up at Portage Place mall downtown, so mall rats would view us with curiousity and sometimes ask what was going on. Not many people knew who George Lopez was. When ever I had to stand for several hours, my one worry was that I'd get varicose veins. I worry about this at work when I'm on my feet, but I also had my high heeled boots on. There were these twin sisters there, fraternal I believe, because one looked taller and slightly different, but they were definitely twins. Our star didn't have to be on set until 7pm, so many on-lookers were looking but not seeing anyone that would provoke excitement. Once lunch was served, the majority of the extras got some food on the extras table, but us union extras, who had to wait until the crew & cast ate, got to eat the gourmet. I don't want to say I felt sorry for the other extras, but we did eat good.

George Lopez came on set a little while later, with a blue beret and a red scarf dangling around his shoulders. He looked slimmer, so it was puzzling earlier why his stand-in was a handsome studly young guy who was bulging with muscles. He seemed like a friendly enough guy, but he mostly fraternized with the crew and the other young actor who shared a scene with him. A few of the other extras were talking business-talk, about unions andd the frustration of it all. As it got darker, and the streets got colder, there was a scene that I rarely see in Winnipeg: bright shiny souped-up cars cruising Portage Avenue, spying our set and calling out. It was quite a visual feast. I wasn't sure how I'd get home, since the set would wrap around 2am, so one of the other extras offered to drive me home. As soon as I phoned dad about getting home, he asked me if it was a man or a woman. When I said it was a man, there was a pause, but amazingly he said nothing about it. I've told him once and I'll tell him a thousand times, I'm not looking for anyone and I'm not interested in anyone, so he'll never have to worry about me screwing around with anyone, male or female. He can think all he wants and worry himself into a heart attack. My love life is dead as far as I'm concerned.

It was almost midnight when we were wrapped for the night. I said my good-byes to a few people, and one actor kissed me on the top of my head as he hugged me. The actor/extra who was taking me home kept assuming I'd crash at his place, but it came out as, "Are you going home in the morning or right now?" It sounded like he wanted me to sleep with him, but he didn't bully me or pressure me to do anything I didn't want to do: he was a decent fellow. We're walking away from the location, carrying out bags of clothing, when I say, "I wish there was a Chinese Restaurant open right now" and as we turn a corner, there's "East Ocean Chinese Restaurant. We burst upon the place, plunking our bags down and causing a ruckus settling in. He's a pretty man, only 2 years older than I, but nothing stirred in me. He was alright, but flashes of the twins entered my brain. Again, he asked, "Are you going home in the morning or right now?" and all I could say was, "Of course I'm going home". I'm not interested in raising my parent's suspicion. He refered to me as a princess, but not in a condescending way. More like, "Well, you're they're only girl, their princess". For me to come out would seem like an act of rebellion, like I'd never entered the idea of me and another woman before. If people want to think that way, fine. I'm not going to waste any energy convince people of who I am. The truth will out.

After he pays for our feast, and after his stunned reaction at me being a vegan, we stroll to his place so he could put his stuff away. I kept thinking he'd pursuade me to spend the night, but all he did was show me the room I could crash in. I wanted to be in my own bed and he took me home. Like most other actors, he was frustrated at the business and his ambition to be a professional actor. Not that he was self-absorbed, but he got his opportunity to vent his thoughts about acting and the local casting directors. I chimed in my 1 cent, but he was on a roll. I also kept thinking about coming out to him and the repercussions of him leaking it out and telling others. It's such a thing with me. I'll have to handle it in some way that I can live with. I also thought that it would be great to meet someone that I'd come out to my family and the world for, to unleash myself and finally burst out that closet door. Maybe that's what I'm waiting for, but maybe it seems so unreal that it gives me reason to lock myself in this celibate jail. Until I find this mystical person, I'm trapped. Sounds like a tall order.

I'm off to work, but I get Thursday, Saturday and Sunday off, and I let the extras casting director know this to hire me for those potential days.

I'm still tired, but I have to go to work then rehearse the play.

Must prepare for the day and buy my mom her birthday gift.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]