[Saturday, Apr. 12, 2003 @ 3:30 p.m.]
[ From Last Night To This Morning. ]

Last night, my dad tells me, "Get dressed, we're going to see a movie". My mom wanted to see, "Lord of the Rings: Twin Towers", a movie I could care less about, but he was paying. My dad is slow about preparing to go out, and this annoys my mom to no end. Everything about my dad grates on my mom's nerves. Anyway, before we left, we called my older brother to wish him a happy birthday, and when I asked if he'd received my e-greeting and phone call, his comment was, "You should brush up on your singing." Lovely, bro.

So my dad is yammering away with my brother after my mom and I had our time with him, and my mom's getting antsy and irritable by the second. Someday she's gonna snap and I'll be the one holding her down, prying the longest knife from her fierce grip, but dad will be too clueless to understand what had transpired. I don't know if it's her Department Manager job at Wal-Mart that's stressing her out or leaving jobs she was happy with in the past because dad wanted us all to move to a different province, where she'd have to start at entry-level of a different job. There's been no resentment lashed out at my brothers and I, so dad gets to be the scapegoat. I've only been to a few movies with my parents since coming back here, and everytime, my dad falls asleep, snoring for all to hear. I sighed several times at the movie and shifted many times in my seat out of boredom. The only thing I liked was the trees coming to life and saving those two guys that looked like brothers: I almost thought they were twins. I'd have preferred to see, "Phone Booth", eventhough I'm hearing that that isn't the movie it was hyped up to be. At least I've got "The Matrix: Reloaded" and "The Matrix: Revolution" to look forward to. I was pondering on popping the first Matrix movie into my VCR, when I turned to the "Teletoon" channel, catching "Ren & Stimpy". I sat there in delight like a 10 year old. I was even more delighted when a variation of 2 favorites came on: The Dabba Don, a hybrid of The Flintstones and The Sopranos, where Fred is Tony Soprano. It had hints of The Godfather when some unfamiliar-to-me superhero was in bed, throws off his blanket and sees the head of Quickdraw MacGraw at the end. I'm marking this one in my scheduler for next time.

Last night, I had one of those dreams where if you leave the TV or radio on, it's incorporated into your subconscious: It had Ben Affleck talking about "Daredevil", but I was off to the side, destracted with a sex toy. I got bored with it and put it away: no need to analyse this dream, eh?

My mom and I went to Wal-Mart today, and I finally found a decent pair of sunglasses I wanted. I thought I'd have to also restrain myself from buying DVD's, but I either had most of them or the rest I'd seen and didn't want. At least Gregory wasn't there, so no pessimistic humourlessness today, but my mom's friends were there. My mom acts like she's lonely, but I guess most married people feel that way after many decades to the one who you want to throttle in their sleep. Her friends, Carol and Diane, two lovely ladies, always ask if I'll be working there again, and as I gave my most polite answer, I wanted to say that I woundn't be caught sleepwalking in this place, nevermind dead. Working in the public arena of most retail/slave-labor jobs makes you acquire absolute contempt for humanity, and I don't like that feeling, as I'm sure everyone else does. Speaking of slave-labor, I even had a book called, "Black History for Beginners", and the rules for slaves were the same for wage-earners, no kidding! Nobody wants to hate anyone, but it's a by-product that I can do without. Anyway, as I was checking the mirror and trying on sunglasses, I noticed that my flaky scalp was snowing upon my forehead. No matter what shampoo I use, no matter how deeply I condition it, no matter what stength of tar I squeeze into my locs, my scalp is forever flaky like pie crust. My hair is really thick, so I'd need a whole bottle of shampoo then a whole bottle of conditioner to get to every strand growing from my head. I need to soak in a bath and give my hair an intense washing right now.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]