[Monday, Jan. 12, 2004 @ 4:53 p.m.]
[ Kitchen Wizardry & Impending Projects ]

Today, I'm so proud to have made a tofu omelette.

I love to cook. It perks me up when I especially cook something I've never attempted before. After swearing off eggs as part of the vegan diet, I've resorted to inventiveness and other recipe books for alternatives and sifted through my recipe books today. When I saw the recipe for a quick and easy tofu omelette, I thought, "Hey, I have some of these ingredients: why not?" It felt good and I was confident enough to know it would turn out good. Despite it being soft as opposed to medium-dense tofu, it turned out good enough not to turn into scrambled tofu.

I know lots of people hate tofu, including my dad who complains against anything not involving meat, but I love finding new ways to make traditionally carnivorous dishes and make them taste good enough for my dad's barbarian tastes to accept. If he likes it, then anyone will.

It got me out of my blue funk to step into the kitchen and whip up something. It was the closest thing to excersize I've done in weeks, just because I've been so inactive lately. It's also therapeutic to feed my stomach and my soul, gets my imagination humming, my limbs moving and my tastebuds anticipating. Keeps me busy and out of trouble. You don't have to go exactly by the recipe. I feel like a mad scientist sometimes, tossing this and that into whatever, watching the steam whaft up in the air, hearing sizzling sounds, fearing the flames licking the air, dodging the splashing oils coming at me, watching the raw goods turn into morsels, sniffing the herbs and spices....mmmmmm! Good eatin's! I still aspire to make an eggless quiche someday.

I almost went downtown to get ready for an audition at the Fantasy Theatre for Children's "The Lion The Witch & The Wardrobe", but that would interfere with the International Women's Week Cabaret I'm in. I'm getting the monologues mailed to me, as I was phoned and informed of today, so they should be in the mailbox tomorrow or the next day; before the end of the week is over. I can't wait! I wanted to do the two projects, but I'd need more money to afford the busfare to travel to such places.

I need to learn to drive. Do you know I don't even have a learner's permit? I attempted it years ago in my teens, but I failed it twice and gave up. I use excuses to talk myself out of attempting it again, but it's frustrating being nagged about learning to drive. I'd have just that bit of liberation, I think. Eventhough I would be cutting down costs on one thing as car insurance and all that goes with it, but I still need some wheels to have access to on the fly.

I'll work on it.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]