[Saturday, Apr. 19, 2003 @ 11:25 p.m.]
[ Nowhere Over The Rainbow. ]

I need confidence to come from within, and I can't find it. It's there somewhere. Lots of events have put me to the test and I've failed, everytime. I was always too afraid to stand up for myself, people would take advantage of me and blame me for it, sex partners would use me like toilet paper and disrespect me afterwards, unrequited love has been toxic for me and will be my end: I'm the cowardly lion from The Wizard of Oz, and I need courage. If I had any, I'd be successful, no matter what I wanted to be. If I had a brain, like what the scarecrow wanted, I'd have figured this out a long time ago and known how to do it. If I had a heart, like the tin man wanted, I'd have a closer circle of friends who didn't feel I was hiding my true feelings all the time. I've always identified with Dorothy, but I'm really the other 3 partners on the yellow brick road. The wicked witch is life in general, and I wanna go home, to a home base where I'm guaranteed safety from harm in the real world. I think Glenda the Good Witch has waited for me to figure out things for myself but impatience got the best of her. Is there no wizard that can grant me what I want?

I need confidence, otherwise I'll be living at home forever, afraid of challenges that come my way, single and afraid of intimacy in relationships, broke and working at entry-level jobs where my boss will be younger and stronger than me: I have no spine. I was born without one. That which didn't kill me, just made me more afraid. I don't like what I see in the mirror, and I hate when people patronize me with bullshit because they think it's what I need to hear. There's no sincerity anymore. There's nothing to believe in anymore. If your friends tell you that the guy that raped you is decent, and that you're just being vengeful, then what is fair? Then, when your best friend tells you that you're gay because of bad experiences with men in the past, where do you get the strength to sock it to them all? Who's out there to acknowledge that you're worthy? I haven't been good at being courageous, and I've looked to others for approval, love, respect and got diddley-sqwat, al because I couldn't access it inside of me. I wanted this diary to be more positive, but I'm pouring too much of my emotional barf in here. I hope this moody red beast goes away, but it'll come back, always.

I miss Zoloft.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]