[Sunday, Apr. 20, 2003 @ 5:13 p.m.]
[ The Fourth Month and the Twentieth Day ]

Today, I sat in church, in the balcony with my mom and my younger brother, and all I thought about was 4:20. For those of you who smoke pot, you know what I mean. Apparently, at 4:20, on the 20th of the 4th month coincidently, there's some law associated with smoking the fine weed, and in some cases, nasty skunk weed. It's 5:15pm, and several people are stoned right now. My Vancouver friends are thinking of me, and I of them. Just because I haven't done any in 7 months doesn't mean I don't want any. If I never have any for the rest of my life, I won't die. I miss the social aspect of hanging with friends and passing a joint around, getting down to the roach and using thumbs to preserve the cherry.

Anyway, while in church, I got a little self-absorbed about my past in comparison with these church-goers. Then I figured that some of these people are no better than I. Some probably would think I was a christian in comparison, while others would burn me at the stake. It was difficult to sing along to hyms that I wasn't familiar with, but my mom and brother weren't singing either. Just making an appearance was the thing. Seeing people that I hadn't seen in years was good, especially when they asked if I was staying in Winnipeg for good. Ugh, what a dreadful thought! My cousin Claudine was doing an Easter skit with another girl and she was pretty good. I heard that she was searching for me to get notes on how she did. Too bad we didn't collide. As we left the building, a couple of pan-handlers had their scruffy selves tilt their baseball caps for their own offerings. Who's worse: them for taking advantage of churchgoers or us for being hypocrites by not giving? I use to live in the Downtown Eastside and encounter beggars every block, and got so use to saying no, that it doesn't bother me anymore. Even if I gave today, I can't give to everyone in one day, then give to everyone the next, and so on. They can't get mad at me for not giving, like I use to get mad at them for begging. When you feel you'll never have a stable life, you feel all you can do is beg off the street, and you're going to get rejection.

All I can say to them is Happy Easter. I hope they find a shelter that feeds them. Holidays can be worse for them too.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]