[Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004 @ 12:29 p.m.]
[ In The Thick of It All. ]

We had quite the marathon of theatre yesterday.
Three performances was enough to make up for the 2 weeks of rehearsals we were allowed. When they say never to work with children or animals, on set or on camera, they didn't work with these kids. I made the mistake of bringing my finger puppet rabbit I'd bought from Starbucks as a lucky charm. Forgetting how little girls gush over anything cute and fuzzy was my fault, for they were all over me like a fan at a Justin Timberlake autograph signing. The lead girl especially went crazy. She was putting on her stage make-up, when I brought out the bunny, teasing her by holding it up in the mirror reflection. She quickly spun around and dove for the toy and I had to wrestle with the little freak. Gradually, the other girls saw the commotion and wanted to see the bunny. One girl, the one who got yelled at the most during rehearsals, acted so innocent when she requested a touch, then quickly handed it off to the bunny-fiend. If I hadn't been quick enough, that poor toy would've been in shreds. I later on hid it in my shoe where it remained safe. Poor toy. I also found it hard to concentrate on the show so I had to hide out in my corner of the theatre for some peace. Stage left is my favourite place for the run of the show.
The director bought us lunch after the morning show, but after the second one, we were on our own. I keep haunting Burger King and eating their BK Veggie w/no mayo. When I had their meal yesterday, I got a Spongebob Squarepants watch! I haven't had a watch in years. I've depended on my cellphone or pocket organizer or anything not attached to me, so this'll take some getting use to.
I wished we had more shows during the day, 2 or 3 everyday. I did a show once for a whole month with a few shows a day. It felt like a full time job and I loved it. I can't wait to do a show like that again. I wish this one were extended for at least another week or so. I hope the kids don't drive me crazy by the end of this thing. They're great, but they keep touching my hair like it were a play-thing. They laughed when I said, "Black people's hair is different than white people's hair", for they couldn't understand how just twisting my hair created the locks. Several more days of this and I'll end up shaving my head bald!

Well, five more shows to got!


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]