[Thursday, Apr. 24, 2003 @ 2:08 p.m.]
[ My Fellow Dysfunctionals! ]

If you're out in a public place, can you pick out your favorite diary member? We have these names and allude to our lives with the idea that our feelings are safe when we pour them into these entries. I could be on a bus, sitting next to junkromance visiting Winnipeg, smashed on beer and stinking of cigarettes while writing his memoirs. I could've been in a pride parade in Vancouver, and palepurple could've been on the sidelines, topless. I might be watching the news and discover that ghostie has died straddled by a prostitute, while drunk, in a Las Vegas Hotel. All sorts of creatures are out there, thinking they're the only ones with the feelings they have, meanwhile there's tons of people thinking they hate their parents, get broken-hearted, stress out over exams, feel hopeless about their future, get raped, love Quentin Tarantino films, love teddybears, and even love the same sex while married to the opposite. I step out of the house and feel alienated, yet I come on the computer and feel connected.

Don't take this the wrong way, but we're all losers. The whole world is. I'm a loser, he's a loser, she's a loser, we're a loser, and yes, you're a loser too. Take a good look at your life right now. Read all of your entries and then tell me your life is wonderful, that it's turned out better than you could've imagined. Tell me you're on top of the world, that you've made no mistakes, that you've created world peace, tell me you've cured AIDS, tell me that everything will be all right and prove it. I know you can't. The only thing I can count on is that you'll put together foggy thoughts into wonderful words, saying how you felt, how your day went, what you desire, what pissed you off, what rings you belong to: it makes me feel like the world is a smaller place with you all. The world doesn't seem so cold and scary when I read your entries. People are so heartless and cruel sometimes, but I can read the pain we inflict on ourselves and sympathize/empathize/laugh along with you.

Thanks for putting your hearts out there, and thanks for cradling mine.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]