[Thursday, Jul. 15, 2004 @ 4:38 p.m.]
[ Recap of Last Night's Stunt. ]

Well....

Last night's show went...okay.

There were 15 people in the audience and we were suffering first night jitters. I kept as cool a head as I could without the other actress acting worried and wanting me to be her support system. I didn't worry about how I'd do on stage; just focused on the moment at hand. The other actress, eventhough she'd done shows before, was almost scared, like she was going before a guillotine. I tried to be as supportive as possible, hoping her nerves weren't infecting mine. There was only one sketch that didn't get enough laughs and I'm not surprised or worried. The more musical portion of the night had a few fumbles with lines, but we plowed through them; I was the most nervous in that one. Maybe because I was worried about the other actress' fear infecting me. After one of the other pieces, the actor hi-fived me!

That was only one of the hi-lights of the night.

Afterwards, the director took us out and bought us drinks at a nearby pub. One of the other actors, who rattles off a monologue in his only scene, was interesting to chit-chat with. Then he mentions marijuana. He had some. The rest of us, [minus our nervous actress and another actor] went out back to smoke a bit. I thought I'd forget what it was like to be stoned, but it was comfortably familiar. I was a bit worried I'd smell of it, that I'd arrive home and my parents could tell. One of the actors comes up to me and says, "I didn't have you pegged for smoking pot".

If he only knew....

Overall, the night was good. It felt like a stunt we pulled, passing ourselves off as actors and making it through the first night. Today was my day off so I'm not back until tomorrow, later on in the evening.

I'll still go over my lines though, just so my performance is stronger.

I got to rub elbows with a member of "Three Dead Trolls In A Baggie". He's from Edmonton, where the improviser performers out there are superior to anyone across Canada, hands down. I'd met him in Vancouver when he performed and did workshops and here he was, having directed a show about lesbian pirates. I handed off one of my hand-bill as he requested. He must've thought that was my motive for chatting him up, but it was all good.

I hope I can afford to see some shows in the fringe.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]