[Saturday, Sept.20, 2003 @ 12:34 p.m.]
[ My Throat Is Sore ]

I had a bit too much to drink last night when I went to the gala, and the hangover won't hit me for another 24 hours yet. I took in last night's gala, on how I didn't have to come out to my beard, how it wasn't an issue at all. All worries went away once I took advantage of the free Champagne served, and I'll regret that in a couple of days. The servers were also walking around with trays of food, and luckily they had veggie sushi: damn, that wasabi stuff is hot and delicious!

The major hi-light of the evening were film snippets of local actors, work they'd done in and around Winnipeg. Everytime someone was recognisable, the crowd would cheer supportively, and it felt so encouraging. I was even hoping that maybe someone found something with me in it, but I didn't make an appearance. There was even a woman who claimed that she liked my clip, which I privately thought was funny and phony of her. To think that all of North America is bombarded with American movie stars, totally clueless about our fountain of talent. There were actors who'd been with the union for over 20 years, then there were the little ones who weren't even 10. I got to shake hands with this little girl who looked about 11 and was an actress, so we complimented each other on the other's necklace. There was this one woman, a blonde thing, who was giving me some sort of dirty look. I chose not to make a big deal of it, since maybe that was her intention. She was even chatting with some other girl that also looked at me, like I was stealing away some one's husband or something scandalous. Maybe she's seen my photo on gaycanada.com? If she didn't look so bitchy, I'd have thought she was do-able.

Food-wise, I was lucky, in that there was a buffet. We're at this swanky shindig, and they call out our tables to have us line-up for our food. Well, usually if the food was served to us on a plate, my choices would've been very limited, and my stomache would've been grumbling, along with my mouth. My beard bought me a glass of wine; I still find it strange when the whole chivalry-thing is applied towards me. I'm not use to having someone buy me drinks for social reasons or picking me up at my place and all that. If I ever get enough money, I'd love to treat a woman like that, the whole flower-buying, chair-pulling-out, drink-buying, dance-leading (I love to lead), cigarette-lighting, door-opening thing.

Whenever I went to the bathroom, I'd catch a glance in the mirror and be grossed out. I didn't touch-up my make-up, and my champagne-goggles saw a haggard and rough-looking girl in the reflection. I looked like I needed to be poured into a glass and into bed. At one point, I was looking around to see if there was anyone do-able: There was diddley-squat! No one appealled to me! At All!

Sigh!

So, we all started the evening upstairs for drinks, went downstairs to eat, then went back upstairs to dance and pig-out on dessert. I pinched some of the chocolate curls and melted them in my coffee. Mmmm....chocolate curls!

It's Saturday, and at night, I'll be in front of the TV, with my teddybears watching DVD's or surfing the internet. The only thing keeping me company right now is Prodigy's "The Fat of the Land", which I absolutely love!


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]