[Saturday, Aug. 07, 2004 @ 9:01 p.m.]
[ "All The World's A Stage & We Are Merely Actors" ~ Shakespear. ]

I believe this was a Shakespearean quote

We all play a role, varying ones on a daily basis. In my life, I'm the star, the lead player. With most friends, I'm their comic side-kick; with my family, I'm their vegan/actor daughter who doesn't have a real job. At work, I'm the smiling plucky-funky employee who's cashregister isn't properly balanced. With my lesbian friends, I'm the only black woman living at home with her parents and who doesn't drive. When I was in school, I was the kid who was older than everyone else because I repeated a grade. In modelling school [John Casablancas], I was the class clown [no, it wasn't flattering]. Whenever I take a bus, I feel like a background player. There've been times where I felt like the antagonist, the one causing the drama in a group or situation. You know, being attracted to someone and them not feeling the same way about you and making a scene; having a bad conflict with roommates and being blamed for making things worse; being fired for incompetency, those sort of things.

There are times where I feel like I'm the plain one or the oddball. You know, you have a friend who's on anti-psychotics and you feel like you're just run-of-the-mill. Or the person you're hanging out is a carnivore while you mention you're a vegan and they think you're weird. Shit like that.

Times in my life, I feel like my days represent a genre of film/theatre/tv. Like I've morphed into an episode of "Friends", The Cosby Show", Seinfeld" or "The Twilight Zone" and way back when, "Sex & The City".

Who will I be tomorrow?


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]