[Thursday, Aug. 05, 2004 @ 11:05 p.m.]
[ Hanging w/Ma & Pa ]

I had to go downtown to pick up some sides for this Sunday's audition, so my dad had me tag along with him, seeing as he was going out to run errands anyway. He was suppose to pick up mom, something she hates because sometimes dad isn't on time and it's endlessly frustrating for her. We go to Canadian Tire, then to his bank and we finally ended up downtown so I could pick up my sides.

Dad is hungry, but we have half an hour to zoom over to Wal-Mart and pick up mom. "Go through the drive-thru window" I suggest. If my dad could drive around our house, he'd do so, since getting out of the car takes him away from actually being in it. He's so attached to driving, being a cab driver and all. He gets a combo and I try the BK Veggie burger w/no mayo: not bad! We sit in the parking lot as we munch away at our food when it's already 2:30pm, the time my mom is waiting outside and cursing dad. "Why don't we buy her a salad so instead of grumbling at you for being late, she'll have some food to keep her happy?" After suggesting this for a 5th time, dad finally swerves around to the drive-thru while I do all the ordering. He's acting like I ordered the lobster dinner at what I get for mom, meanwhile it wasn't even 5 bucks! Finally, we arrive, and my dad asks as usual, "Can you see her?" meaning can we see the angry expression on her face? We were 15 minutes late. As soon as she walked up to the car, she glanced at her watch and bitched at my dad. As soon as she got in, I handed her the bag of salad and orange juice. I told dad that I'd take the blame for us being late, so when I explained that we'd have arrived sooner had we not ordered for her, she was still thankful to me for thinking of feeding her. Dad burst into laughter, knowing full well that was a dig at him. There are times where I feel sorry for dad, that mom has so much animosity towards him, that she should give him a break. I never speak up about this though.

Mom and I went for a leisurely walk on this beautiful day, taking note of the neighbour's gardens when she starts talking about dad and a particular incident. She was in the front yard, doing some gardening when dad came home. Obviously she was home and left the door opened when he arrived, but when he got inside, he locked the storm and inside doors. It was only when mom went outback to put out the garden trash that she noticed he was home, without saying hello or anything to her. Attempts to go inside when she realizes she's been locked out. After banging on the doors and windows for a seemingly long while, he finally awakes to answer with, "Who? What? Where? Huh?" He always locks both doors no matter who's home or not. It's frustrating, but sometimes I wonder if he does that on purpose? Dad and I were mowing the lawn months ago, of which he becomes a control freak about, and I pointed out an area that mom had planted so he should be careful. He delibrately mowed over it, like he was angry at her. He acts like mom has no reason to be mad at her. Even my younger brother believes she has a right to be angry at him. For him not to even know what size clothing my mom wears, he believes that's not his job, that us kids should know this. I know he says this just because he never remembers but thinks I'll buy this line. I had this running monologue about how to bitch him out about his insensitivity towards mom. He's like Archie Bunker/George Jefferson. Some marriage.


Anyway, I got a call from a friend I hadn't talked to in awhile, my butch friend. I think she likes me. We hung out yesterday when she picked me up from work and we tried a new coffee house that served vegan brownies and all sorts of stuff I could eat. Anyway, I think of her and I want to feel more for her, but I don't. A few months ago, she was talking about taking things slow, but I'm wondering where she's at now, if she has her sights set on me. She 's cool to hang out with, and I don't have a lot of lesbian friends here. When she phoned me yesterday, it was like she thought I might've been jerking her around in order not to associate with her. I called her, based on the number on our call display and that was a different number. She explained it to me, but all in all, she didn't get my messages. Her roommate was an old girlfriend, who's involved presently with someone else and according to a mutual friend, my friend ended up moving out. She found me through a yahoo group where I posted, so she sent me an email and we chatted a bit.

I want someone that stirs something in me, that I have more in common with. Tomorrow, we're going to a party where we may end up crashing there for the night. Hmm.........I automatically imagined hooking up with someone else and having an ugly scene unfold. I don't know what'll happen, but I don't want an ugly drama to happen. She's an earthy person and is rational enough: I could talk to her.


My half-sister called! It was her birthday on Monday and had I not reminded dad [she's his daughter from another woman], he'd have forgotten that like he forgets the day of the week. She was talking on her cellphone which cut out 2 times. I thought she'd call back, but since she didn't, I left it at that. I'm so stupid! We usually use those phone cards but we don't have anymore, so she must be cursing me in her bed right now for not calling back; we know her number, we could've called back. Anyway, it was a good chit-chat. It's the longest we've ever talked in our entire relationship and I didn't call her back. To say it was because of a phone card will sound like a lame excuse for not even a few measely bucks worth long distance charges. I'd never hear the end of it from my parents. I almost never make them just so I could have just that amount of peace around here. I'll write her a letter and explain more.

It was good hearing from her again.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]