[Thursday, Jul. 03, 2003 @ 9:21 p.m.]
[ I Ain't No Scam Artist, And Not While He's Eating ]

While my mom was helping me with my taxes, I also pulled out a piece of paper. See, I thought it was a stub for a savings bond I'd bought several years ago, like 1993, but my mom argues that it's the cheque part, thinking that I'd cashed the stub via cash machine. We went to the bank after I met up with her at the eye doctor. We headed on down to one bank, you know, those ones that have a mini-outlet at a major store (Safeway @ Jefferson & McPhillips) with limited service. The kind fellow looks at the piece of paper and assures that it's a cheque, and tells us to go to a different bank. He was so nice, and I figured he knew what he was saying. We get there, and I ask the woman to deposit it into my account, since the guy at the other bank said it was a cheque, but then she verifies it and the other woman who shakes her head. The woman looked at me, telling me it's not a cheque. "It's the one that has 'cheque'(uses hands to demonstrate this) on it" and smiles at me, like she's foiled my flawed scam or something. Bet she'll go home and brag to her friends and family of her crime-solving skils she sprung on us, itching to call "Stupid Criminals" on us. I was right about it being a stub, but I was still embarrassed. I almost believed it was $100, but instead I looked like a scam artist.

I'd better go make some popcorn. Dad loves it when I do that. Maybe someday I'll come out to him, with his mouth full of the hot-margarined kernels, so that when he chokes to death he can't banish me from the family.

Nah, too stupid, but it might make an interesting short movie for a film festival, eh?


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]