[Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2003 @ 10:34 a.m.]
[ Say What? ]

Yesterday, when dad and I were driving home, he tells me that when I'm home alone, never to let any strangers into the house. "Why are you telling me this?" I ask, but he just persisted in repeating himself. It turns out that one of his typewriters, one I've never laid eyes upon, is missing, and he's assuming that some thieves came into the house and took it. He's been going on about this stupid typewriter for days and now he's insulting me with a lesson that even a newborn knows. I have never, ever, in my entire life, let any strangers into the house, as far as I can recall. The last time he belittled me like this was when I needed a ride downtown and his other cabbie picked him up. I was allowed to tag along to be dropped off and dad tells me something like "Don't talk to strangers". The other cabbie says, "Why is he talking to you like that?" Even he thought it was stupid.

It reminds me of that time he asked the saleswoman to get him a part for the lawnmower, then when she got the right one, he held it up to her and asked it she even knew whatit was for. I still remember the stunned expression she gave him. I was so embarrassed for everyone there. He has a bad habit of saying stupid things to women then acting innocent. I wonder if he tells his friends these incidents and laughs them off? He sometimes talks to me like that, telling me to lock the door as he's about to leave for work. Living at home sucks! No matter how old you are, you're regarded as a child. If I were working and had a good income, my mom would still be telling me what to do with my money. Parents still want to seem usefull, I guess. Is it just habit to tell me what to do with my life?

Someday, they'll be gone and I'll mourn them terribly, thinking back on a moment like this.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]