[Thursday, Jan. 01, 2004 @ 6:31 p.m.]
[ On The Ride Home. ]

"Get a job. Come out with us more", is what T said. It did hit me, but I didn't say much about it. I knew I needed a job, of course. It makes me want to cut out a social life until I get employment. I like spending money that's my own. Getting help from others isn't fun and isn't something I weasel out of people either. I'd rather buy my own way in the world and not live at home and depend on anyone. I do like socializing with people when I can pay my way and feel comfortable about it. I don't like being reminded that I'm broke and can't pay for anything. My life has been like this for years and I can't break it, even when I am employed. Something has to change. There's always guilt attached whenever someone offers to pay for me or buy something I can't afford. This year had better be good, financially.

I got some tension from T last night while she was driving me home. I mentioned something about dancing, doing hip-grinding and she forcefully said that she's not into that. I worried that I crossed a line. If I ever had any doubts about where we were going, this made it clear: there's no way we'll be a couple.

I wish there was something in my life that I could fix and then the rest would just fall into place or not matter. One girl, last night at the party, asked me when I came out. When I said that I have no intentions of telling my dad, she said she had the same reservations too until she realized that she didn't want him finding out from someone else, so she told him. I keep thinking about warnings from my mom and my brothers. I also remember one day where dad mentioned some politician advocated "fags". The most disturbing things was his arguement about sex between a man and a woman, so I said, "Is it better for a woman to get raped than for 2 men to love each other?"

He said yes.

He also pointedly asked if I was a lesbian. This was the scariest moment. I paused. He said, "Don't you talk like that. People with think you're one".

That was the end of the discussion.

I hated that moment. I will never ever tell him. I don't care if he's on his deathbed and asks me, I'll lie to him.

That's the kind of fear I don't want to deal with. I dont' care, I'll never tell him, and if he finds out, I'll deny it.

Ugh!

Here's to 2004!


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]