[Monday, Apr. 14, 2003 @ 11:35 p.m.]
[ Playing 2 Roles. ]

All day, I focused on my audition coming up at 8:30 pm. My dad had just left to do some errands and my mom was at work, so I had the house to myself to practice my monologue. "Savage In Limbo" by John Patrick Shanley; the scene where my character, Denise Savage, explains to Linda Rotunda, what it's like to be a 32 year old virgin. I've done the play before, I've recited the monologue a few times, but this was my first audition since coming back to Winnipeg! I had to get myself out of that head-space of,Good Actor/Bad Actor, otherwise I can't focus on my audition. On the bus, I read anything and everything, license plates, street signs, ads on the bus, whatever to distract my nervous self from worry. I felt the nervous tension vibrating through me, but I wanted it to be positive. Only 2 other actresses I knew of were there, and 2 others I didn't know, so it wasn't a crowded session as I assumed it would be. I tend to get flakey and spacey, so I needed to ground myself again with reading words and numbers. I was called in and I had the floor. I rattled on about who I was, what my monologue was about, then slid into my recital. I did alright, despite some pauses, but as long as I kept going, they can't tell the difference. They liked me and shuffled through their scripts to see which one they'd like me to read. Oh yeah, there were seven writers, women, and it was for a One-Act play festival, and I'd heard about it from another actress who phoned me last Monday before our meeting. Anyway, the reading of the first script wasn't smooth enough, but they wanted me to do another character from the same play, and after having some time to go over it, I did that one with positive results. They laughed at this one, and the previous one too, so I felt good about it. It's been a long time since I'd felt good about myself as an actor, and if I don't get this, then I got a good affirmation. My brain got a chance to relax, but as I stepped out the door and into the dark evening, I kept myself alerted as I sought out the nearest bus stop that would take me home. I have a fake police badge on my coat, so I find it's to my advantage. Sketchy types avoid me, and those with guilty pasts always glare at me: it's kinda cool, and it helps me feel safe. If you want to feel safe, buy a police badge that says, "Special Police", that way, the real police will know it's not stolen or anything. I find out about the results about the audition on Wednesday or Thursday, so from now until then, it's like waiting for the results of an STD test. I still feel good though.

Well, I'm off to watch Queer As Folk and I'll be taping it!


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]