[Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2003 @ 7:28 a.m.]
[ This Is What I Want, Dad ]

I get to work for 4 days in a row, doing background extra work, and I'm thinking that at least my dad will be pleased. What a silly fool I was!

He's questioning me on how I survived in Vancouver, as if I was really hooking or strippping, and I'm ashamed to talk about it; he was always telling me not to do that when times got tough, but it was never an option.

Nothing I do will satisfy him. I'd like to think that someday he'll sincerely be glad that I have a passion, that I could actually succeed, and that he'd be accepting and not tolerating of my desires. Again, silly me. Those who do what their parents tell them lead miserable lives, and the same goes for those of us who don't. What the hell do they want from us? Do they even know? Do they feel ashamed that I'm not like their more successful sons with their mediocre jobs, working just for the sake of having a job to earn money for their old age? What's the point? Any job I have is just to support myself while I pursue my actual career.

Most people don't see acting as a real job, and obviously, neither does my dad. He'll never take me seriously, and to a degree, that's okay. I'm not my brothers, I hate desk work, I'm not interested in anything else. If there's another ambition that awaits me, it hasn't bitten me yet.

I can't imagine losing interest in being an actor. I can't imagine abandoning this yet. Maybe someday I'll eat those words, and I'll be having nightmares about my dad's lecturings, telling me that I should've listened to him. Oh, the horror!


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]