[Thursday, Jun. 26, 2003 @ 5:41 a.m.]
[ Reflections From The Background ]

I've done background actor work in the past, and when it gets tedious, I ponder my fate: How long will I be doing this for? I'm not a proud background performer, yet it's one of my favorite jobs to date. I see the actors in their roles, disregarding the fact that they're treated better, can get away with sneaking food on set, are given a break if they make too much noise when they aren't on camera, but that isn't what matters to me. Of course, those only grate against my nerves, but I'm too busy thinking that my acting muscle is getting flabby. Outside actors are being brought in, while the local talent is being passed up for roles we could do. Maybe I don't know how the system works, but all sorts of bullshit reasons are used so that the outside production can use their people. I almost make myself sound like I'm talking about immigration or something. Anyway, it's frustrating when you want to work but obstacles weigh you down.

The best thing about extra work is that, especially if you're in the actor's union, is that you're earning more money than the usual part-time jobs acquired in the past, and you sweat less for it.

My hashbrowns are getting cold, and I have to catch a bus in half an hour.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]