[Sunday, May. 02, 2004 @ 9:40 a.m.]
[ Obedience ]

I got a call today from work to come in and open the place: I hate when they do that! I live too far away to get there on time, and this is my day off! I have to work tomorrow already, so I don't want to spend too much time there. My only reason to work there is to keep productive, to earn some cash and to satiate my parent's desire to see me do something with my life for the moment. My mom would prefer that I take up teaching, while my dad prefers that I obey him in every way and learn a trade. In that case, I'd learn to become a silversmith and make jewellery and teach others about it: that would make my parents cartwheel for days until death strikes them.

I'm not trying to make my parents lives miserable by doing what I want. An older actor once assured me that we can't always do what our parents want us to do. It doesn't matter how we try to please others anyway because they're always dissatisfied. I can honestly say that I'm gullible, that sometimes if a friend wants me to do something, most of the time I'll do it. In the end, they look at me as easy or as someone who can't think for themselves, so I've wasted my time with someone who used me. I keep thinking this person will like me, that I'm respecting them by doing what they want, meanwhile they're disrespecting me for blindly doing what they told me to do: I respect others to get respect, treating others how I want to be treated. There are 2 kinds of people in this world: those who want to be respected and those who want to be liked. Those who are respected aren't often liked and those who are liked aren't often respected: I hate the idea of being disliked.

Am I even respected by anyone? If I go my own way with this persistant desire to become a professional actor, am I being thought of as someone who has an ambition or as someone who's delusional? I don't know how much I'm being respected for anything in my life. Maybe I have so much disrespect for myself that it spells out to people to treat me like a doormat or something. Respect has to be earned and not expected and I don't know if I've ever been respected at all, for whatever reason.

If I always went into work whenever I was called, then they'd think I was availible all the time. I'd always be the Stucco Employee who fills in for others but when I need someone to fill in for me, I can't rely on anyone. I've had that at previous jobs where I was there when called yet when I needed the time off, it was impossible. I was almost fired because I couldn't get anyone to take a shift, so I had to choose between being in a show and going to work. I was mad and stressed out at having to make a choice like that; it was so unfair. Life is unfair anyway.

Well, at least I have some strong coffee flowing through me. My mom hates it when I use too much of the coffee grounds in the coffee, but if I don't feel a buzz from the coffee, then I might as well be drinking water, for that's how wimpy my parent's make it. They want to conserve the grounds, but I hate weak coffee. I'd end up drinking too much of it, so this way, more grounds, less water is better than less grounds, more water anyday. Anyway, it's trivial, eh?


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]