[Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003 @ 6:21 p.m.]
[ Law # 36 ]

Disdain Things You Cannot Have: Ignoring Them Is The Best Revenge:
By acknowledging a petty problem, you give it existence and credibility. The more attention you pay an enemy, the stronger you make him; and a small mistake is often made worse and more visible when you try to fix it. It is sometimes best to leave things alone. If there is something you want but cannot have, show contempt for it. The less interest you reveal, the more superior you seem.

I've had people try to cause problems in my life. Sometimes they just want my attention, and when I give it to them, they act like assholes. I've had roommates play mind-games on me, creditors after me, and sometimes talk is cheap. I've been in situations where if only the person just left me alone, I could've dealt with the problem better, and the wound wouldn't have turned into a scar. I'm not very good at fighting, and when I do fight, it's because the antagoniser provoked me, attracting my attention. The antagoniser gets frustrated the more you ignore them. Sometimes this works and other times I'm reminded of "Caped Fear", where the antagoniser (Robert DeNiro) concocts another plan of action, going for the protagonist's (Nick Nolte) weak spot until he's crushed totally. It's hard not to react, for it feels like cowardice, yet if you stick to your guns, your life will carry on. "Often, while you show contempt publicly, you will also need to keep an eye on the problem privately, monitoring its status and making sure it goes away. Do not let it become a cancerous cell."

-"The 48 Laws of Power" by Robert Greene & Joost Elfers.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]