[Sunday, Oct. 24, 2004 @ 9:22 p.m.]
[ The Night After Opening. ]

The show went better than expected.
I had to appear from the back of the theatre, through the main entrance and appear, but as I was hanging out there, I could see the backs of the people's heads, including my parents. I knew I'd be distracted during the show, but I made a conscious choice not to be. I had enough to worry about, what with lines and blocking and all. I only missed one line, but it was still good. I was expecting to get some notes from the director and the stage manager but got diddley-squat. The reception afterwards was low-key, just fruits and veggies, some homemade hummus [which was excellent!] and us actors basking in our glory. It was roughly a year ago the same time that my friend had performed at the larger theatre next to us who basked in his glory while I was unemployed and despondent[?] about my future. I really wanted to get my parents reaction, especially my dad's: he was beaming. My mom also liked it.
Later on, at home, my dad called to talk to me, called me to sit by him to tell me something. He loved the play and especially thought I did a good job, saying there's a place for me on bigger stages. He also pointed out that he and mom were the only black people there, of all the cast and crew and even the audience from our show and the bigger show next door. I guess I'll have to write a script about a Winnipeg black lesbian a la "Sweet Sweetback's Baaaadaassssss Song" or something.
Today was a wonderful day off. I saw a children's play, wolfed down a BK Veggie Burger with no mayo and shopped at Vita Health Store to get some soy cream cheese. I was so excited about the potential of making vegan cheese cake that I didn't notice it also said garlic and herb! Now that wouldn't be a tasty combination. I also rented some films from my Movie Village card, thinking it was expired but it rang through. I got Sweet Sweetback's Baaaadaaassss Song, SuperSize Me!, and The Saddest Music In The World, the latter shot in Winnipeg and circulated around different film festivals. I saw the Sweetback film first with my brother and mom and despite the language, it was pretty good. I haven't seen the other two yet and they're due tomorrow, so I've got me a mini-film fest ahead of me, plus I work tomorrow, so I'll be filmed-out.

While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]