[Sunday, May. 08, 2005 @ 5:14 p.m.]
[ A Mother's Daying We Will Go! ]

It all started when my mom asked me if I wanted to go to church. I should've said no, being an atheist and all, but I figured it's mother's day and I'm expected to go. I'd forgotten that my brother didn't go last year and opted out this year! Tolerating religion and sitting through a church sermon is one thing, but when one of the brief speeches is about the sins of homosexuality, I wanted to stand up and protest. I felt the tension in my jaw and the scawl across my face. Then there was mention of pro-life! I'm not getting too much into that, but each time both topics were brought up, they were brief. I suppose every gay/lesbian has sat through such a speech; this was my rite of passage I guess. I was expecting my godfather to preach to me later on about taking the lord our god more seriously because young people seem to forget him. All I'm fortunate for is that some familiar faces were seen there. I had to use the bathroom, which was a great way to get out of singing hymns, and when I was coming out, some fellow decided to tell me that he loved my hair, being as he'd dated 2 black women in the past. He felt in necessary to tell me that he still got along with them. Whatever.
My mom and I went to the Jamaican Association of Manitoba for Mother's Day brunch and I was lucky enough to find something vegan, at least vegetarian. I saw a friend I hadn't seen since the 80's; I was hoping she'd be fat, but she just has a huge gap between her teeth. Unfortunately, she's beautiful, but with man-hands, as she joked about. I'm guaranteed to see people from long ago when I go to church or this Caribbean thing. They had some performances, but the whole time, I kept thinking that if I were on board, I could organize it better or have some performances. Maybe not, but my brain was swimming in ideas. I ditched the idea of joining when I realized there'd have to be some spirituality involved and I don't need anymore than I've had thrusted upon me already. Later, we're going to a chinese restaurant, when I'm hoping my brother will foot the bill, but we had a text messaging arguement and I think we'll have to split it. I did buy the card that he'll throw his signature to. Crazy bastard!

While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]