[Tuesday, May. 10, 2005 @ 7:55 p.m.]
[ Mmmm........Squid and Actors! ]

Yesterday, I was intending on jobhunting. I tell myself this because I really wanted to go see a movie called, Oldboy, a South Korean film that's playing from last Friday until this Thursday. I had to see it, based on a review I read in the Uptown Magazine. With this ulterior motive, I told my parents I was going jobhunting and went all the way to the Grant Park Cinemas. There were just two other people in the entire theatre, sitting in the back rows while I sat in the second row; I love feeling surrounded by a movie as opposed to just looking at it from a distance. Anyway, subtitles don't scare me. I loved this flick, as gloomy as it was. I found the cinematography quite inventive and the story original. You can always count on a foreign movie to have a different take on story-telling. Even more foreign are Canadian films, which I don't see enough of, unless I have friends of mine in them. Anyway, the weirdest scene was when this guy, who after being imprisoned for 15 years is sick of the fried dumplings he was served, so he asks the sushi waitress for "something alive". Not raw, but alive, as in not dead, as in still squirming on the plate as did the squid that was brought to him. I was expecting to see a cut-away to a fake gelatin-like replica, but the camera stayed on the moment as a real-live squid was put before the guy, who then grasps this slimy thing then puts it head-first into his mouth as the thing's tentacles slither about his face! Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww! That was only one of the most shocking moments. The story kept me interested as our protagonist sought revenge but then needed to know why he was put through hell by the person he sought vengence upon. If you're looking for something original and a good story, then run to see this.

Enough about the movie!
Today, one of our co-workers was employee of the month. Some burger-flipper who's always told a billion times what to do and how to do his job. I think they gave it to him because I heard he was contemplating leaving that place! Bastards! I'm thinking, I don't expect to be employee-of-the-month, but I didn't expect someone worse than I to get it? It's like someone less friendly or who calls in sick for work to get it over me. I can see it going to someone who's obviously a hard-worker, and the first two of this year did deserve it, but come on! I carry my resumes with me, both business and actor's to frisbee them out on impulse.

I bumped into a fellow actor on my way to rehearsal; we always bump into each other! We even talk about this for about 5 minutes, saying how we hardly see the other group we each know and how we only see the familiar faces during background work or auditions, rehearsal or performances. It's always great to bitch and moan about the acting biz with other actors, but alas, those moments are few and far between. Oh yeah, speaking of rehearsals, I was having a coffee when the director calls me with bad news: One of our actresses (the only other one in the entire cast of 3 left) doesn't feel like rehearsing so today's was cancelled. I so expected him to say the whole show was cancelled. I'm surprised this boat is still floating. The water is rushing in on us and we're still trying to make it to shore. This should be called, Titanic Productions. My heart goes out to the director; we were complaining about how there aren't enough black actors in this town nor enough support from the black community. So many of us belly-ache about this and do diddly-squat about it. We've self-prophesized ourselves to the point where we expect failures. Bah! There was an audition notice sent out for black actors and NOBODY ANSWERED! If this show makes it to the fringe, I'll blow him. I'd better train my gag-reflexes right now in case.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]