[Friday, May. 06, 2005 @ 12:23 p.m.]
[ "I Wanna Know What Love Is" ~ Foreigner ]

Mom is back in town!
She was travelling with her best friend across the Eastern part of Canada when a phonecall interrupted their travels: My mom's best friend's daughter-in-law died on the operating table on Tuesday, so they had to drive back. Her friend was understandably upset and my mom consoled her the whole way, stopping off at a hotel to spend the night. The only thing we can do is send our condolensces out, since the memorial will be a private one. Having my mom gone was like living with a cold, empty space in our lives. I had to keep my dad entertained and lend and ear whenever he needed someone to talk to. I barely saw my brother around, but while I was in rehearsals, he came by to keep him amused. My brothers were on pins and needles upon her arrival, phoning or text messaging me. She has another week's holidays, since she'd be in Nova Scotia if the death didn't occur. We were all genuinely sad to hear about this news. When I called my mom and her best friend on her cellphone, she sounded chipper, portraying the strong individual in such a crisis, so I didn't even bother to ask if she was okay.

One of our actors has jumped ship.
The lead actor in our play has been M.I.A. since last week and the director needs another black actor to replace him. I worry that the show will break apart, but then again I thought it would dissolve a month ago. The actor wasn't a strong one anyway, so I didn't think he was that good, expecially reading the text and struggling with some big words. The director is also taking up a part-time or full-time job to pay his bills. Since I auditioned a few days ago, I imagined that IF I got a callback and a role in the Move-Of-The-Week production, I'd have to be availible for June and abandon the fringe show. I'm sure I didn't get the role and I'll be called for background extra work because the casting director was patronizing me by saying things like, "Splendid" and "Fabulous", which I detected so much insincerity. It's like he gave up on me and auditioned me because he was suppose to. He raved at the last audition I did for him and then I never heard from him accept from one of his assistants to do background work. This always happens, but at least I'll be getting some fat paychecks. Since I'm getting anorexic ones from Wendy's, this'll putty in the gaps. I can't wait to get that check! I also didn't get my tax refund, since those student loan predators snagged it and put it towards my debt.

Tonight, I'll be going on a "date". I use the term loosely because it was a friendly get-together I encountered last week when I met up with this bisexual woman at a coffee bar. We talked for hours, causing me to miss a rehearsal, then went to see some improv later. My straight male friend thought I had some make-up on because later on over a phone conversationa he said I was beaming. I don't know what'll happen with this girl, but I'm not putting all my tofu chunks in one bowl. The words, I wanna know what love is passed through my thinking the other day. I guess I do, but fear gets in the way. I have a thing against "voluptuous" women. If there's someone out there that can change my mind, then so be it, but I like someone who's slim or at least average-build and this girl has more to spare, if that didn't offend anyone. We'll see what happens if I ever move from under my parent's roof again, if I ever see Vancouver again. Speaking of which, I taped an episode I did extra work for of The Dead Zone. I taped only the bits I was in, since I came into the episode 15 minutes into it. If I knew ahead of time, I'd have taped the whole thing. As usual, anything shot in Vancouver makes me heart-sick.


I have to find another job that I can live off of and then move to Vancouver. I don't want to be 40 and still working at Wendy's. If I stay here any longer, I'll be nursing my parents, doing non-paid shows, background extra work while living at home. The Human Finger That Ended up In the Chili at Wendys-Truth! But Police Say it Was a Scam!


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]