[Saturday, Aug. 21, 2004 @ 11:48 p.m.]
[ [P.O.Y.] Mirror, Mirror ]

Have you ever stared in the mirror so long that you became a blur; like you didn't look like you anymore? Or that you saw way beyond what you look like and deeper into who you are?

This week, take a look in the mirror...Really take a long look at yourself. What do you see?

Most of the time, I don't like looking in the mirror. I'll look for something else like my teeth, if there's anything wedged in there. I see all the negative things in my life. I see someone looking back at me saying, "What have you done with your life?" Only judgement staring back. I want to see something looking back with pride, with satisfaction maybe. I want the image to glance back like a supportive coach, cheering me on to make the best of the day ahead. Instead, I see a ruddy complexion, a flaky hair line, morning eye gunk and a search for resolve. The eyes are always looking for something positive beneath the negative. I look at my lips and hope that words will come out and make a profound effect on someone. Who'd want to wake up to this face every morning, for the rest of their lives? I see someone questioning, "Where am I?", like I were lost or in limbo.

I see so many labels people have tried to pin on me, seeing them all swirling in my eyes. There's no way a person can be deduced to a few labels and character traits, although I'd like to think there's some simplicity to who I am. I see a thirty-something who's fearful of her forties, a single woman ready to tackle the future alone or not, a daughter who'll have no parents someday, a sister who's brothers are better off.

Ack! I hate mirrors. They reflect what I don't want to face or deal with [Typical Pisces!]. It's why I have so many things cluttering up the front of it.

I should hide behind make-up. Give people a different face to deal with instead of inflicting this one on them.

Poor bastards.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]