[Friday, Jul. 23, 2004 @ 11:24 a.m.]
[ Our Last Show Today ]

I was getting nervous last night over tonight's show. I was conceiving the idea that my family will be in the audience tonight, that I'll be ranting and raving on stage in front of them. I'll get over it though.

Last night, I saw another show by T.J.Dawe called, "The Slip-Knot". I stood in the line-up for tickets for 2 hours! He came out personally and handed us a bookmark with his image and stuff on it. The only stupid thing I could come up with was, "Oooo, glossy!" as I took it from him. Luckily he didn't give me a negative look.

As great as the show was, the most interesting parts were the spontaneous moments. People's watches would chime and he'd whip his head in that direction, asking, "Is that a cellphone?" He has another show ranting and bitching about cellphones and I was scared that my silenced phone would somehow go off: I didn't want to be his target of the show. Someone sneezed and he quickly said, "Bless you" then easily carried on with him piece. I was glad I went. I didn't stick around for the autographed book signing, since I didn't see him lingering in the lobby, plus I had to catch a bus in 5 minutes. Afterwards, while travelling on the bus, my thoughts in my head sounded like his voice, his style of ramblings were in my head. I was afraid that if someone asked me a question, it would sound like I was trying to imitate his show. He really got into my head. I wondered though: There was a moment in his monologue that he mentioned living in a crappy area of Vancouver. I wondered if he ever lived in the same one I did? Probably at different times though. If I'd have met him, what would my impression of him have been like? Would I have thought him some gangly goofy kid? Maybe I wouldn't have noticed him at all anyway. It takes a successful show and the reputation as a fringe darling to get noticed.

I almost can't wait for this show to end, but once it's finished, I'll be coming down emotionally. I had a weird moment last night while backstage. I was thinking, I hate stage acting! I don't want to be an actor anymore. I hate the nerves before going on stage. Really, I hate the nerves while backstage, it's the worst feeling aside from the constant rejection. Once I do get on stage, it's easy as pie. I always have negative thoughts about acting though, as most actors do. Don't we all have bad things in our heads about things we love?

I have two more shows to see with my frequent fringer pass, then I'm done.

I don't want to go back to my regular life.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]