[Saturday, Nov. 08, 2003 @ 7:55 p.m.]
[ My Influences. ]

Who has had the biggest influence on your life?

1. When I started grade one, I had no friends. I always felt like an outsider, but most people think they're a misfit or a square peg somehow. In grade one, this girl walked into the class, and her unique look struck me. She didn't look black, but she didn't look white either. We became friends and hung out until one day she asked me to come over to her house for macaroni and cheese. She'd told me about her cats and her sister, who was fully African, so I was curious about what I'd see once I got there. I arrived, met her mom and sister, then her dad came home. I see this white guy standing there, and I thought,"Wow, you can marry other races!" I thought that blew my mind. I'd always been interested in other races. In my hetero career, I went for white guys, very rarely black guys, but even now, I've been with white women, just because I don't get to meet many black women. Anyway, JJ, also had her ears pierced and played the piano, so I got mine pierced at age 7 and took piano lessons for only a few years before I lost interest in it. She left the biggest stamp on me since then, and we've reunited only a few months ago. She's one of the sweetest people I know.

2. My drama teachers through the years, even the ones from the Actor's Studio in Vancouver, have left their nuggets of knowledge that I can't seem to express on stage or in front of the camera.

3. Television actors, mostly comedic ones, are my favourite: John Ritter, Michael Richards, John Laroquette, Michael J. Fox, mostly sitcom actors are my favourites.

4. People who've made it to the top with little money, little training and tons of persistence: Jimi Hendrix and Johnny Depp are the only 2 I can come up with right now.

5. My Brothers: their sense of humour always amused me. They aren't performers, but they have a personal style that's entertaining at times.

It's hard to pick only one influence. Many people who've seen me and my mom together say we look alike and even sound alike. I'd have to say that my mom has had an influence on me too, but I'm not as classy as she is. She's so beloved by many people.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]