[Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2004 @ 9:18 p.m.]
[ A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Movies ]

The actress I worked with wanted to see a movie with me so we ventured out today. She picked up up just as I arrived at the mall, the pick-up point and we yammered away. Well, mostly she yammered while I tried to get a word in edgewise. Her car was filled with Hello Kitty symbols, which I love! Although she wanted to see "Catwoman", I suggested "The Village". We'd bought our tickets, had a half hour to kill, and went over to Polo Park to grab something to eat from the food court.

We get there, talking the whole way when we arrive to her chosen food outlet for a sandwich. I'm standing there, when I notice the name of the girl's name badge "Phamtastico".

"Is that your real name?" I ask, not really thinking about how I phrased it. She says, "Actually, it's Karen, but it's pronounced differently because of all the silent letters in it." That was so funny that I kept asking if she was serious. I must've sounded dumb for constantly asking, "Seriously? I mean, really?" I don't know if she was being sarcastic or not, but her delivery was spot on perfect! She didn't shoot me an evil look or anything, just said it matter-of-factly. The annoying way I kept asking if she was serious must've killed her joy of giving me a burn by saying that to me though. I don't care, she was funny.

Even as we went about going back to the theatre, I kept thinking about her remark and it got funnier. I'm still picturing it now. What my friend said about it was interesting: She was commenting on how because the girl was Asian, that because it's some stereotype of the "Tricky Oriental", that she did that [!]. I just told her that I don't listen to stereotypes. I didn't think the girl said that because she was Asian, but that she had a sense of humour. The whole race thing didn't occur to me. I'm glad it didn't either. I hate the idea that whatever I do, people will say it's because I'm black. I've even had some idiot co-worker from many years ago comment that, "Those blacks sure are funny" right in front of be but as if I weren't there. I mean, hello! I'm right here you ignorant chuffnutt! Not to say she's a racist, but she just didn't really understand what she was saying. It's amazing what people believe and pass off as fact.

Oh yeah, the movie was pretty good. Really. At certain points, I jumped then felt giddy because of it. All I can say is M.Night Shyamalan is brilliant. If you plan on seeing the film, you'll see him in it, but look closely, very closely.

Hehehehehehehehe.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]