[Sunday, Nov. 28, 2004 @ 2:17 a.m.]
[ Drama Under The Greasy Roof ]

The thing that makes me want to quit work is when I'm told to listen to the customers and get their orders right. The managers talk to me like I'm still in-training, like it's my first day. It's so condescending too.
I don't know how much harder I have to crank my neck so I can hear them tell me the wrong orders. Sometimes I get them wrong, but sometimes the customers aren't as familiar with the menus as we are, so they'll say the wrong thing or there's so much noise going on in the background or.....maybe I haven't been listening.
My co-worker who thinks I'm racist was there today. I thought he was being cold towards me when I'd say hello to him. When I asked how he was, he said the was having a little trouble with black people these days. Before I had a monent to be upset, he cuts in with, "No offence". I reassured him with a hug that I loved him and that he needn't worry about me being hostile or anything like that to him. I love him like a son, of course, and he understood where I was coming from. I think he lightened up after that, but I could still tell he was troubled. I don't think it was from me though, just some other turmoil going on in his young life.

One of the managers.....well, I'd have to say she has the worst attitude there. I've found it humourous in the past, but today she crossed a line. She can get cranky and her display shocks and offends the customers. If she were just an employee, she'd have been fired a long time ago, but as manager, she seems to get away with it. Anyway, a customer had a question about a previous bill that was higher than the one I'd presented to her, with the exact same items. When I presented the problem to the manager with the attitude, all I got was, "I don't know". With a few other words exchanged, the customer finally said, "It'd obvious [manager's name] doesn't care so I'll just forget about it!" She couldn't be more right! She said it pointedly towards the manager too and I felt the aggression in the air. I feared there'd be a battle of words so I had to shout out that everything was fine and to move on. There was still some hostility looming. A different manager, the one who's father's military experience rubbed off on her, seemed to think I was getting out of hand and asked, "Are you okay? Is everything alright?" like I was on the brink going postal. It simmered down, but both parties were still stewing. I just didn't want it to get too ugly, otherwise we may attract a reality camera crew and provide some interesting television. I could already see it. Can't you see your workplace on a reality tv show? Or even your homelife? My workplace is more dramatic, almost as fast-paced as "er". Anyway, that was the most tense moment at work.

I'm so glad I've got a day off. I saw a mention for a raw food vegan pot luck at 1:30pm that I'm very curious about. I don't think I know of others who are interested to go. I may just stay at home and be lazy, read my "The Monologue Workbook" book or spend some quality time with the folks. My mom bought a DVD/VCR player the other day and I hooked it up! I love electronical stuff. I got it from my older brother. Makes me feel so butch, like when I mow the lawn or fix things around the house. That, and watch my favourite show, "Inside The Actor's Studio". This one will have Jude Law. It's his month! Every magazine and tv talk show has him on there. I think Colin Ferrell is getting nervous! He'd better watch his back.

Anyway, I'm tired. Must conk out.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]