[Saturday, Sept. 13, 2003 @ 10:53 a.m.]
[ Freakin' Audition! ]

I'm a little worried about my audition today. It's for the Prairie Theatre Exchange production of "Who Was That Masked Munsch?" by Robert Munsch, and I have one monologue in my head since forever, and another one that's from a Shakespearean play; I'm suppose to have two contemporary monologues, yet I have a modern and a classice one. I have a feeling that I'm being seen but not considered, but I want to impress them. It's the director who'll be seeing me, and I have doubts. I have to go in with a certain mindset, yet it's not coming to me. This is scary. The coffee in my stomache is being sloshed around by my anxiety right now. I've only told my mom about my audition, but no one else. I don't want to "shoot my wad" before I go. I'll wait until afterwards to tell anyone I even went. I have a radio audition tomorrow, and I'm not prepared enough for that one either.

I just have to keep my wits about me, focus to get into it, and jump in. Really, it's scary because it's exciting, but if I focus on the positive, then I'll get through it. I don't want to do it just to get it over with, because then I'll rush it and I won't take my time with it. I must savour it, like the yummiest Jolly Rancher.

I'm trying to control my feelings about this, and that can damage this audition. I don't trust my own feelings enough. I must; I use them when I perform, and they want to see what I'm made of. The one thing all actors have to remember when auditioning is, They're on your side!, but I always feel I'm on the other end of a firing line, and their eyes are the guns pointed at me.

If anything good comes out of this, I don't know how I'll react.

Just think about the speeches I have and everything will be fine.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]