[Friday, Sept. 12, 2003 @ 1:29 p.m.]
[ John Ritter ]

Waking up to a new day seems like the least risky thing to do. When you know what type of day is ahead, then there's less mystery, but otherwise it seems like any other day. I go to my yahoo! homepage and notice that Johnny Cash and John Ritter are announced as dead! I was never a country/western fan, but even I had an appreciation for a legend like The Man In Black.

John Ritter, on the other hand was one of my favourite TV actors. Comic actors are usually a stand out in my mind, and "Three's Company" was his showcase for what kind of talent he was. Joyce DeWitt and Suzanne Sommers were really secondary to him, and I use to think I had a crush on him, but I just admired him. I was shocked when I found out he was dead, not expecting it, as most celebrity deaths go. He was always a favourite whenever he made an appearance on any TV show or movie, and I always wanted to really like "8 Ways....yadda, yadda, yadda" but couldn't be provoked enough, and now, I'll have to wait for "Bad Santa" to come out for Christmas and wish for "Three's Company" to come out on DVD.

I don't know why I'm making a huge deal over this, dedicating a page to him, but something in me wanted to. Everyone has a favourite performer, and some of mine were comedic. It's popular to say Robert DeNiro, Al Pacino, Meryl Streep, Christopher Walken, and other dramatic actors, but the comedic ones seem to be secondary in comparison. They're just seen as clowns and goofs, but hey, they keep me laughing. I'm not really seen as a serious person, and I value my sense of humour, so to think that I'm looked down upon by other actors because they see comedy as silly hurts me. For once, I went to the Yahoo! messages boards and saw only respect and condolences for his family, not the usual crap like what was put up for Joe Strummer, Nell Carter and Gregory Hines.

It's also good to know that you can make the world laugh then be remembered for it when you're gone. I want to make the world laugh, but only with me and not at me.

John, I was laughing with you.

R.I.P.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]