[Thursday, May. 15, 2003 @ 12:29 p.m.]
[ Floating Through My Brain ]

It's the day after the audition, and I got a call for another one, this time from Kari Casting. They do background work, but they want to see me for a speaking role. As long as I pull the same magic as yesterday's, I'll be fine.

I often get into the head space of what kind of actor I want to be, then my fantasy life gets ahead of me. I bring that to auditions and acting workshops and expect too much of myself. I can't live up to my fantasies, but I live so much inside them. They're great for when I'm bored or disillusioned with the world, but when I step outside to participate, they melt away. Fantasies aren't all they're cracked up to be. Sure, they're all colorful and dazzling, but they can't be fulfilled. I'm a Pisces, so our heads are in the clouds a lot.

I'm no Angela Bassett, or Whoopi Goldberg, or even Halle Berry, so I'll have to express what kind of actor I am when I feel the most liberated in a role, then my true self may evolve. I doubt that I'll make an insomniac out of Meryl Streep, but I have my moments, as brief as they are. As long as I focus on what's important and not get caught up in insecurities and my fragile ego, I could succeed, then tell my dad to stop telling me to find a "real job".

You know when most Actors imagine themselves winning an Oscar, and they have a speech planned? Well, it always varies, but I'll either be saying, "....and I'm so glad that my parents were alive to see me accept this award", or "...I wish they were alive to see me accept this award". This also goes up there with my Deathwish:I'm standing at the podium, accepting my award, and just as I finish, a sniper, that being another actor whom I beat out in an audition for the same role, shoots me in the forehead, and blood is all over my expensive gown, while my supermodel girlfriend is the first to rush to my side, cradling my dying self, while I fade away with a smile on my face, thinking, "Wow, I'm...." and then I die.

This is the type of stuff that floats through my brain!


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]