[Saturday, Nov. 20, 2004 @ 12:08 a.m.]
[ Family Night ]

I thought one of the actors was being a jerk. I said hello to him, continued to talk to him but he wouldn't utter a single word to me. Mind you, he's only about 9 years old. Turns out, his mom's house caught on fire and he was understandably depressed and distracted. My one worry was, what about the show? It's always difficult to focus on anything when a trauma happens to cross your path. Some of the kids were ignorantly insensitive about his feelings and I tried to be supportive towards him after that, but then I figured the best I could do was get him to focus on the show. The worst thing you can do to a person is to add salt to their wound, to aggravate their pain so that they can think of nothing else. He could go home and cry his lil'heart out or whatever, but he needed our support and he needed to get through the performance. He pulled through well enough, as good as he usually is, maybe even better.
My parents came and saw the show. I wasn't sure if my younger brother would show up, but he did. Some people thought he was my older brother, one person thought he was my uncle and one other person couldn't tell the difference between him and my dad. We don't all look alike! I asked my bro what he thought and he said, "It was good." When I burst out and said, "Oh, you and your monosyllabic anwswers!", he just laughed. I've provoked something from that boy. My mom was about to take a picture of the two of us, with me in my costume, but he seemed annoyed about it. That's just his way, I guess. He'll always act like he's annoyed or bothered but he comes out to my shows and is supportive to a degree.
A bunch of us collected afterwards at a legion, with some other alumni from previous productions and had some "libations" and chit-chat. One of the actors is so virginal. He's about 22 and is skittish in his own way. I feel so world-weary next to him, like I could soil him, like I was some dirty whore come to take his virginity away and taint him for the rest of his life. Meanwhile he plays gangsta rap, burned from his own computer. Oh, the complexities of the human psyche.....
I'm still digesting the 3 drinks I downed awhile ago. It's wearing off now, but I need to be completely sober for tomorrow's show during the day.
Off to view my DVD's of "The L Word" and concoct some grub.

Special Fortune � 19 November 2004

What thought or sentiment would you like to put in 1,000,000 fortune cookies?
�From The Conversation Piece.
"There are no guarantees, anything is possible"


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]