[Friday, Dec. 17, 2004 @ 12:30 a.m.]
[ Only Eight More Shopping Days ]

Whenever I leave for work and I'm moments from exiting, my dad picks that moment to start a conversation about anything. Today it was about the new DVD/VHS player mom bought that was better than the black market cheapo thing he bought years ago. He seems jealous of it and wanted a straight answer on why his was replaced. Also, I'm grabbing my things to leave for the bus when he nags me about why I haven't gotten my learner's permit yet? Sheesh! I wonder if he does this on purpose or what because next thing I know I'm traveling down the street mumbling and grumbling to myself with dad's voice in my head, thinking what a crazy ol'coot he is. I even tried to ignore him, thinking I don't have to answer the same question he keeps asking me but that only aggravates him more. I'm not going to apologize for taking the bus or for not knowing how to drive. I may never learn to do so at this point, but maybe in the future, although it won't shut anyone up. Family members will make fun and tell me how to drive properly, I'll be running errands, I'll be driving my drunken friends home, but I could steal the car away or something. I'm not even that interesting in driving anyway. I have no visions of what kind of life I'd lead if I had a license. It's all about social status and I'm just an artist bum. Maybe I'll change my mind. I did when I got my cellphone, which I absolutely love! Everytime I look at it, I think the thoughts to myself and suppress a giggle.

I had a shortened day at work. I was thrilled, but the other co-workers thought it was weird and that maybe I'd gotten fired. I got the strangest looks when I was getting ready to leave. I couldn't have gotten home any faster, although I'm at the mercy of the bus route, so by the time I was off work, I'd missed one and had to wait for another.
My boss asked a favour of me: he wondered if I had an extra hair net he could borrow. I sifted through my shoe bag, where I kept two of them but also remembered that I wore my work shoes outside, making the shoes muck up the spare. I pulled it out, hoping it would magically be spic-n-span, only it was sandy and smelly. Mentally, I pictured giving him my clean one and using the feeble hairnets laying around for brownie points, but a girl and her hair are sacred, so I showed him the nasty-skanky one. All of us who were present said, "Ew!" and dropped the subject. Now I know what to get him for a xmas gift, if I shell out the bucks and buy him one. Actually, if I were to buy all the managers a gift, it would be keychains. That might be tasteless though. I'll just make a card, some vegan cookies and that'll be that.
Yesterday, I said hello to a co-worker who was just starting his shift. I usually think he's mad at me for something I might have ignorantly said, but as soon as he gave me his most mellow grin, I could tell he was stoned. The song, "Somebody's gonna get fired!" rang through my brain until I said it outloud. Well, not too loud, but moreso to myself. I'll miss him when he's gone.
I really need to write a script for myself. I keep telling myself this, then I don't.


What I really want for xmas is this.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]