[Tuesday, Jul. 29, 2003 @ 10:22 p.m.]
[ An Old Friend Made My Day! ]

Today, I was having a day that I wished didn't exist.

It was an emotional thing, really. Just overwhelmed with sadness, feeling the need to cry. I had that come over me a few times today and while I was on the bus, coming home from my Market Research Interviewer Interview, I was hoping, I hope something happens that'll put a smile on my face, something that at least makes me laugh.

Well, I was lounging in my room when the phone rings: it's my childhood friend who lives in Toronto, and she's coming to town for a few days! I was thinking of her today, because she use to work for the same company I had my interview at, but it was called Angus Reid way back when. We gabbed like old times, talked about jewellery-making, and she said she's arriving on friday!

It's also scary when you haven't seen someone for years (since '94), and their changes have clashed with yours. It's almost scary, but I think it'll be good to see her again.

Her mom and my mom knew each other in Jamaica, and the both of them, along with a couple of other women, came to Canada together. My friend is younger than I, by 2 years, but my siblings and hers use to play together. There aren't many females that I bond with, but she's one of the good ones. The last I heard, she had a boyfriend and they were living together, but there was no mention of him over the phone. Our family photo album has birthday parties that include her and her brother; her sister was born only in the '70's, and I remember when she was just a toddler. Now, her sister is married to some guy. I can't be this old, can I? Same words Bob Hope uttered before death took him by the funny-bone to hang with Bing Crosby, Milton Berle, George Burns, Jack Benny, Lucille Ball, and the Rat Pack is perforning their Vegas act afterwards.

Anyway, I'm feeling better since her phonecall.

I should've wished for cash or Janet Jackson.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]