[Wednesday, Jul. 30, 2003 @ 5:47 p.m.]
[ A Big Grin On Dad's Face ]

More and more, I'm venturing outside, into the real world and spending less time in the house. Sometimes I go squirrelly, being couped up with my dad, and since my mom is on her 2 weeks vacation, the house feels even more crowded.

My excuse to get out was to go grocery shopping. I often go into the fridge or the pantry and find nothing I want. I figure, I'm a big woman, I've lived away from home before, I've gone grocery shopping many times, so why not? I headed on down to the IGA and bought just a few things that wouldn't weigh down my basket or cost too much. Almost 40 bucks, which is still too much. I plan on making a vegan lasagne, but with that "Just Like Ground" stuff that looks like ground beef. It's like I'm playing with Fisher-Price meat, eh?

I'm carrying my 2 small grocery bags home, and some fat rain drops plop down on me, but luckily it lasted a mere minute. I remember waking up this morning, thinking that something good will happen today, hoping that whatever it is, I'll relish that, since I tend to be fatalistic or defeatist at times. Anyway, I arrive home, and my dad is doing 2 strange things: he's mixing a salad and he's also smiling at me. He advances towards me and says,"I ought to give you a kiss". I go with it as he gives me one on each cheek. He then points to a glass that's in the dish rack; he found the glass that he's accused me of breaking when he didn't know where it was for about a week. He wouldn't let up on it, giving me the third degree. It turns out that mom found it downstairs, just sitting there being ignored and neglected, wondering who was being interrogated for it's misplacement. Dad had such a smile on his face for awhile, and we even laughed when I exclaimed, "You found It!", like it were the holy grail or something.

It felt good to have him so expressive. I forget that he's capable sometimes.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]