[Monday, Sept. 15, 2003 @ 5:06 p.m.]
[ "What A Difference A Day Makes"-Dinah Washington ]

My dad and I were doing yard work today. We were wrapping up some stuff he tried to sell years ago, and midway, he paused, standing there and moving his dentures around in his mouth. I thought he was deep in thought, then I thought maybe he was having heart trouble. He walked away from me, as I kept asking him what the matter was, but he stumbled away from me still. He leaned upon a giant box up against the house and had a far away look in his eyes. I wasn't addressing the problem, so I barrelled ahead and wondered what the matter was, wondering why he stopped suddenly. "Is it your heart?" He nodded. "Should I call an ambulance?" he shook his head. It seemed to have passed, but this may have happened before, and will happen again.

It's like his memory went on him, suddenly puzzled about what I was doing. It was his idea to clean up the yard, yet he's suddenly baffled. I had to patiently tell him what we were doing, and 3 times I told him that mom was at work when he kept on asking where she was, then wondered who I was talking about. I tried not to get worried about it, but I couldn't help remember a friend of his he recalled months ago, who suddenly didn't feel good and went inside his house. When my dad checked on him, the guy was on the bathroom floor, dead. I imagined finding him on the floor, me calling the ambulance, then calling my mom and brothers about dad dying on me while doing yard work, then all three of them getting angry at me for letting a 64 year old doing any physical labour: the image became about me. Dad's pride will kill him when it comes to keeping active and doing what he wants, and my stopping him will only make things worse. Not many people want to admit they're getting old, and he usually condemns himself as stupid whenever his memory fails him.

He's gone to work now, and I should get ready for my actor's group, but I can't help but think of a possible traffic accident involving my dad's cab and his miscalculation.

I hope he's okay.


I got a call from one of the actors who's going to the meeting tonight. I was set up with him as a date for the Gala happening this friday, but I'm not thinking of it as a real date. We kind of joked about it, so I'm semi-relieved about it. I always stress about these things, and I wish there was a better way for my nerves to take this. I doubt things would be easier if I were completely out, but nothing's easy, eh? I think of it this way: My luck in love isn't that promising, so I have no reason to think anything will come of this. So what if I tried to be straight? That would make no difference anyway. I'd end up single in the end, so no huge loss. Yeah, I'll stick with that.

While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]