[Thursday, Jul. 31, 2003 @ 10:50 p.m.]
[ I've Been Cast In The Lead Role! ]

I went to the play read-through today, wondering what the competition was like. I was worried I'd be muscled out of a role, since the director said that he needed either between 9 or 24 actors: some would have to double up. I saw the casually-dressed people enter, and I felt awkward, being the only new kid. We all sat down for a simple read, and we were to do it like a radio play, so we didn't have to jump around or anything. I was getting the idea these weren't seasoned pros, but most of them had performed for this theatre before, while a couple only did this as a hobby. I was disappointed. I wanted to be challenged but I don't want to be a snob about this. It's not a paying gig, and I don't know if I'll invite any big-wigs to this to see me, but it'll keep me active. I even had a little voice in the back of my head, saying, I just want to work on my acting muscle. Different actors work for different reasons. At one point, The Director asks me if I had a song in my head. He wanted me to belt out a tune, right there, in front of everyone. I paused, went through the section of my brain for the little catalogue of songs on the fly and sang a few lines of "Misty", the version Sarah Vaughn did. The room applauded me, but I'm no Mariah Carey. I've been given 3 songs for the play: my singing debut. A couple of people were obviously actors, one of them was in a fringe play I'd seen, some were natural, while a couple were really bad. One guy had trouble reading his lines, but he struggled through it and was given a very small role. I've been given the lead role.

The one nagging thought was how dad was going to take the thought of me doing this for nothing. I'm an adult, who happens to live under his roof, but if I get the job at ipsos-reid, then I can reassure him. I'll also give the director a reason to slit his wrists and take a hot bath, for this may interfere with the schedule.

As far as I'm concerned, it's all good.


On my way home, I got the message on my cellphone that my mom and dad went out, and she'd alarmed the house: this'll be my first time turning off the alarm manually. I got to the door, braced myself, and as soon as I got in, I punched the keypad and I was victorious!

My luck may run out, and I'll have to brace myself for it.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]