[Wednesday, Apr. 14, 2004 @ 9:42 p.m.]
[ "Let's Go Crazy" ~ Prince ]

My younger brother, out of shame for his older sister [me], has put the word out to our cousins to find me a better job, to get me working in an office building, but I've been so tired with the friggin' fast food job that I haven't the energy to even think of looking for something else. He phones me and nags me if I've checked up on it already. I hate the way he regards me, like I'm his daughter. I know he's bad-mouthing me, and I'll bet mom has to remind him, "Don't talk like that about your sister".

Even as I was riding on the bus today, reflecting on the stressful day of belittlement and reminding, that I hated my life. I hate that I'm doing a fast-food/entry-level job that is stressing me out and a whole list of complaints I've gone on about regarding life in Winnipeg. I feel my muscles will fall off my bones, I'm so tired. I was cleaning up the dining area, holding back the tears over the stress. I had to fight hard enough not to look like my eyes were moist with frustration and anger. Even before handing in my resume to this place, I knew what I was in for: I've had this type of job before and didn't want to go backwards in my life, but here I am. I could disregard the measely cash-flow, but I hate what would come after that.

I remember an episode of "Cheers" where Carla realized that she couldn't go back and capture the lost adolescence she missed out on, that no matter what kind of crap was dumped on her, that something positive would come out of it. A minute later, Cliff Claven bent over and split his pants and made her laugh. I fully believe in that. If it's not a sight for sore eyes or a phonecall to cheer me up, there's always something. It's not even one of those thoughts where you try to think positive, it just happens. I don't know if I go looking for the lost diamond in the pile of shit, but something's bound to happen.

Sometimes I figure that if I ever get fired, it'll be a good and a bad thing. Being there is earning me money even if it's making me miserable, but if I were let go right now over the phone, I'd be spared more hell, smelling like meat juice and salty fries, being belittled by people half my age, told a billion times what I'm doing wrong, etc. There are 2 other women who're close to my age that have been supportive and understanding. One of them saw I was about to cry and was gentle enough to reassure me that I'm not alone and that everybody goes through this. As kind as her intentions were, it didn't make me feel better. Not worse, but not better either. The ones over 30 had more patience while the others were too impatient, sighing with disgust now and then like the mischievious bastards they are. Today, there was a new guy, and I already saw how green he was. I wouldn't be surprised to see the other employees taking bets when and how he'd snap. I want so badly to lash out and tell someone off and tell off the management, make a huge scenario that would cleanse me of any anger for the rest of my life, especially this one tall girl who doesn't even look at me, at all, no acknowledgement. This job is whittling away at me. I don't want to die with Wendy's being my last job! My smelly greasy corpse will attract too many insects.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]