[Saturday, May. 17, 2003 @ 9:19 a.m.]
[ It's Common Practice. ]

Dream: I was at a party, hosted by a beautiful blonde girl, quite the femme fatale. She lured me upstairs, and we lounged on a large cushion in the middle of the floor, the size of a futon mattress. I noticed her parted red lips, and I commented on how full they were. She's telling me that she's seeing 3 other people, and the next thing I know, we're already naked.

Then I woke up. Sheesh!

My bladder woke me up to empty it in the bathroom, and that morning ache lingered, teasing my 8 months of celibacy. It's too early to head off for my audition. I've got until 2pm to get ready for my 3:30pm audition, and I'm slightly worried. I don't need to, but each audition is unpredictable. I never know how I'm going to do until I get there, but as long as I focus on what I'm doing and shake the tension out of my body, I can show them what I've got. It's for the Jennifer Lopez/Richard Gere movie, Shall We Dance? being shot out here. I kept hearing about it, on how it was originally to be shot in Toronto, but the actors were afraid of SARS, so Carey Lowel, Richard Gere's wife, suggested Winnipeg!

At least I won't have to memorize several pages like last time, but this is just 2 half pages, and I dont' know what type of actors I'm up against. I once auditioned for a Nicorette commercial, and a week later, they called me to do background actor work. While I was waiting to be shuttled to the location, the driver finally picks me up. When I revealed that I'd auditioned for this role, the driver confessed that they'd chosen an American actress in the first place, but saw us locals for the sake of the actor's union: It's common practice. They may have cast this "Caroline" role I'm up for already. I use to think of it as a waste of time, that it was heart-breaking to be seen with no real hope of landing the part, but at least I'm exercising my auditioning muscle, so it's nice and firm for the more challenging ones I'll be bench-pressing. They usually charge actors for audition workshops, yet here I am, doing it to free! Yeah, think positive.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]