[Sunday, Mar. 14, 2004 @ 2:18 p.m.]
[ The Day After the Cabaret ]

Yesterday's show went really well.

I arrived at the bigger venue and got settled. Some of us didn't get to see one of the actress's monologue, so since we had a few hours to waste, she performed it for us. She was the best and most experienced actress amoungst the 6 of us, and the oldest one. I'm the only black one and the tallest one, with the director a close second. It was only our second show, yet our last.

When I'd wait backstage to go on, my heart would beat faster and I'd feel nauseaus. I'd also feel my bladder quiver, so everytime I have to go onstage, I go pee first. It's always a tiny tiny bit too. I had to focus outside of my neurotic self then walk on stage: The monent before is always the worst moment. Once I'm on, I just go with it, meanwhile a bizillion thoughts are going at once: Am I saying this right? Are my family in the audience? Why is that person taking pictures of this show? I thought that was illegal? Why are those lights so bright? Is mom's pizza she made for me going to turn out? Did I miss a line? It never stops. My first one seems so short though. My second one is after intermission, and I enter from the audience. As I come through the doors, it's silently so I don't attract attention. A friend of mine came to see and glanced at me but I didn't want her attention to sit too long. I did my second piece and I always worry about lines with this one, since it's my longest one. I had them in the palm of my hand. They laughed and I paused, awaiting their laughter to die down abit before I launched into the rest of it. An audience's reaction fuels ones performance. I don't know what I'd have done if a peep wasn't uttered, but luckily that wasn't the case. I sang my song at the end of the piece, rearranging the set for the next act, then ran out the way I came in. I got lots of compliments afterwards too. When the show ended, I saw my dad come out first: I thought he couldn't come! I got hugs from all of them except my dad jokingly said, "Don't touch me!" 'twas lighthearted when he said it, after seeing me point to my crotch and talk about menstruation in my last piece. We were all suppose to go out later, to hang out one last time before we parted so I gave my bags of clothing to my family. As I was all ready, it turned out that the bar we wanted to go to was closed, so we all went home. One of the actresses drove me home and we chatted wonderfully. She's very soft-spoken and delivered her monologues wonderfully. One of hers involved shaving her pubic hair by request of her boyfriend. I loved that one. Everyone's was great too. I wish I had copies of their monologues for future reference. It was just such a good night. As freaked out about my performance and as anxious about backstage jitters, I wish I could do it for a whole month!

I made it home before my family, who were trying to maneuver their way through the parkade. I dove into my homemade pizza and relaxed.

I fell asleep with my make-up on.

This is my last day of being 35.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]