[Wednesday, Jun. 30, 2004 @ 1:14 a.m.]
[ It's Almost The End of June, Kids! ]

So many people are leaving/quitting Wendy's. Since the new manager took over and expected everyone to be obedient, she's managed to drive most of them out. I've considered leaving, even before getting the job, even before I knew I had the job. One employee wants me to come over to his house and make dreadlocks out of his hair. I never realized how much I hated doing other people's hair until asked. It's not like I do it for a living, but since he asked and kept flattering me, I buckled and said I'd do it. When I was talking to him on my cellphone, I had the sneaking suspicion that he was stoned, just because of the way he'd answer questions and repeat himself. I didn't want to ask over the phone, with my mom nearby, but I was hoping that he had some pot at his place. It might be a bad idea for me to do his hair while stoned though, but it's not like I'm cutting his hair, or performing heart surgery on him. Just tangling up his Philipino hair with a comb, waxing it up so it doesn't unravel and then he'll probably ask personal questions, just to get to know me. Gah! Yes, I'm a lesbian, yes I was born in this country, yes I live at home with my parents, yes I'm really 36 years old, no I don't have a driver's license, yes this is my real hair, etc. I always compare myself to that character in "The Seven Year Itch", the married man who has an active imagination, who's worries go to that place where drama ensues with disasterous results.

I went to a little club on Saturday. I had done a play reading when I felt like calling my lesbian friends. Since they were off to listen to some blues, and since they hadn't seen me in a long while, they picked me up at a coffee shop. As I sat in the back seat, I got to spill my guts as they asked me personal questions about living at home and what I was up to. I led them to the chinese restaurant I went to the other night and a couple of men were flirting with us, mostly my femme friend while her girlfriend paid the bill. It was good to get out and vent about my dad. When asked about my sex life, I automatically asked, "Why? Do you have anything planned? Whatever it is, the answer is yes!" and we all laughed. I ain't that easy!

I have to book some time off work to spend it on this play. Some of my co-workers want to see it, and all I can think about is that I'll be distracted by them while I rant and rave on stage with the profanities spewing forth. It'll be a challenge; whenever I think something will intimidate or overwhelm me, I tell myself that it's a challenge. Like Tom Hanks when he was about to work with Jackie Gleason, he made a choice not to be intimidated by him.

Must.....sleep......must......get.....some...rest.[Can't sleep, clown will eat me!]


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]