[Friday, Mar. 28, 2003 @ 12:55 p.m.]
[ Any Actors Out There? ]

I wonder if there are any actors on this site that log their acting jobs?

I use to keep an actor's diary, one that kept my background extra jobs and auditions, but I can't find it. My last audition was with Stuart Aikins, and he's suppose to be tough! There was one actor who saw him, then was told by his agent not to see him for 2 years! I auditioned for him around August or September, and saw him again a few weeks later, and that was my best one! Now, I'm here in Winnipeg, resting from the struggling-actor bit before I head out again. I have tons of doubts, as most people struggling with their goals do. Doubt is torture, as Natalie Goldberg said in her book Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within. I've got to get my ass in gear, soon, before I'm 40 and reflecting on my wasted 30's. I've finally got my headshots done, but they're lying in my room, in an envelope, waiting to be sent out then thrown in the trash by some casting director/agent. Musten't doubt myself.

Winners do what losers won't do, is what Dr. Phil said, eventhough I never watch his show. He was on Jay Leno a while back, and I think that's where he said it.

Acting is the only profession that strikes a chord in me, and all others don't absorb into my skin. I could care less about making jewellry for a living, I've bussed tables and hated it, I've worked behind counters at retail outlets, I've attempted door-to-door encyclopedia sales and failed, I've managed a retail store for 2.5 months before my boss relieved me, then went and did background extra work. I hate being unmotivated. When I do put myself into something I love, it feels effortless, yet other things feel like I'm lifting a fridge with an elephant on top. Will find true contentment somehow. If I was still in Vancouver, I'd be smoking so much pot right now, and my laziness would engulf me like a whale, but I'd still be with the same agency, sending me out on auditions. Can't have a perfect life, but I'm trying.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]