[Sunday, Mar. 30, 2003 @ 1:32 a.m.]
[ What I've Done ]

Spent the day with my mom, washing her car, then saw,"25th Hour". I was hoping to love this movie, since Edward Norton is one of my favorite actors, but it fell flat. All the actors were good, and there were some surreal moments, but it wasn't enough. We went to Garden City Mall, and I ordered for mom and I at the food court. It's always odd ordering a meat dish like pineapple chicken, eventhough it was for my mom. I went and ordered from a Vietnamese outlet of stir-fry veggies and steamed rice.

We could've forgotten the movie, since we went to my younger brother's place and watched "The Tuxedo", and "Signs" on his sattalite dish; The Tuxedo wasn't too bad, but didn't display Jackie Chan's usual moves enough. Signs I'd seen before and wasn't that impressed with, until I saw it again and began to like it more.

Sometimes I think I should be the one, the older sibling, with a nice place, taking care of my parents and their financial troubles, but my little brother, good guy that he is, gets to. Well, I did pick an insecure profession like acting, and I am a lazy bum at it, and he learned a trade to work at a car dealership, so we both ended up with what we got. I'm just sore that my life isn't working out the way I wanted it to. You never know when life will change for you.

Ten years ago, I was new to Vancouver with friends I thought I knew; they turned out to be chuffnuts and I ventured away from them. I hung out at a coffee shop that had an improv theatre in the back and performed there, also making new and improved friends. I met up with a friend also from Winnipeg who wanted to be my roommate but did nothing about it so ended up rooming with an alcoholic welfare woman from Fiji; worked at a vegan/vegetarian restaurant that was gay owned/operated, had some flings with men, one broke my heart, twice; I discovered the love of beaded jewellry-making, went to an acting school for 2 years, attempted door-to-door sales, grappled with my sexuality, performed for the Vancouver Playhouse, won a trip to the Just For Laughs Festival in Montreal where my group and I came in second place, smoked pot and worked at HempBC where I got even more pot, became an art model, performed as a drag king, had sex with women, dabbled in Buddhism, worked as a background extra for films and tv, did countless auditions, did print work and once roomed with Colin Mochrie's sister. Living at home again has slowed down the pace of my lifestyle, but I can't wait to get out of here someday.

I've got another 5 years before I'm 40, and who knows what'll happen between now and then?


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]