[Friday, Nov. 05, 2004 @ 12:14 p.m.]
[ Sneezin' & Memorizin' ]

Finally, a friggin' day off!
In a few hours though, I have to rehearse a kid's play, that I barely have memorized.
Right now, I'm sitting before the computer with a roll of toilet paper to aid my tortured sinuses. Yesterday at work, I kept sneezing, so I was a mucus-trooper, working despite my impending cold. Would you feel comfortable about getting your change back from me if I booger'd up myself from sneezing? 'nuff said.
I fight the cold with multiples of vitamin c tablets. Not the chewable kind though, for they aren't on hand. I popped a tablet yesterday at work and most of the crew looked and me and joked that I was taking drugs right in front of them. Yeah, hysterical.
At yesterday's rehearsal, I arrived late coming from work but midway during my journey on the bus, the busdriver decides to awaken a passenger who seemingly was passed out. He shook and shook him, but the guy wouldn't budge. I'm hoping the guy was in a drunken sleep and not dead, although it makes for an interesting anecdote if anyone asks what happened to me that day.
There's one other actor in the cast who auditioned with a song and put some musical training on his resume. I didn't do that myself since I don't have too much faith in my singing voice. Not yet anyway. He's no Frank Sinatra, but he gets an A for effort. The director gave us a tongue-lashing to the cast for not being focussed, reminding us that we go up in a week and a half. I only spend half an hour on rehearsals after coming from work and I got the dance routine down with some enthusiasm, yet the young'uns were too fidgety. Too many people see performance as fun and not work. Actually, I know how much work goes into it, but I'm also aware of the pay-off after the frustration levels have finished ravishing me. It's like they think the talent will manipulate them like marionettes instead of actually working and rehearsing it. There's one kid who must be A.D.D. but acts like he knows everybody else's lines. He must be 10 because he's a big kid: pretty much the only boy under 15. There's so many girls in the show! I keep wishing I hadn't signed up for this gig, just so I could relax and recover from the last one, but I want to flex my acting muscle[s]. Also the theatre company seems to be in financial trouble according to another actor and they need more bodies too. I happened to mention I wanted to try out a musical someday. Me and my big mouth, now I'm in this thing. No biggie. I'll go over the songs and lines before I flub up on stage. The good thing though is that a director won't cancel a show if the actors aren't ready because it pushes us to sharpen our skill, plus the ones who still don't do their work look like idiots and their laziness shows for the audience to see. I hope my shift manager has my schedule all fixed. We were going over it just the other day, seemingly agreeing that I had to get off in time to make it to rehearsals, but apparently we were speaking different languages because my shifts will still interfere with my rehearsal times. Must phone her today. Hope it all works out. If I were doing a film, I'd be spending less time working on it with just a few days work on-set, meanwhile I've spent months and weeks in a rehearsal space, then performance only to get no cash for all that. My family always asks me about money everytime I do a show. Those actors that say they'd do it for free? I've done it for free many, many times. As much as I want to get paid and live from it, I still love doing it.

While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]