[Wednesday, Jun. 09, 2004 @ 1:15 p.m.]
[ Belief is Stronger Than Knowledge. ]

Does what I say really matter?

I've had conflicts with people in the past and wondered if I handled it right. Sometimes it's impossible to communicate something to someone when they aren't listening to you. You recall a past event which they either deny or don't remember, and even then you wonder if they were either listening or denying it. Selective Listening. How can you make people listen to you?

Sometimes it's hopeless, so I leave that person to twist in the wind if they won't listen, when they insist on believing what they want to instead of what you have to say. I'll never get my dad to believe that gays and lesbians aren't thieves and murderers like he insists on telling me. He'd rather believe in the worst, just like my ex-best friend did, who also denies what I have to say.

Life is ugly enough with its reality, but when someone chooses not to accept yours, what do you do?

I've had to deal with friends that wouldn't listen to me when they've spread rumours about me, insisting on their beliefs no matter what I was trying to tell them. It get frustrating to no end. What I say doesn't matter. That seems to be my belief/experience. Residue like this settles in my memory and in my body, making me restless and disturbing my thought processes. That ex-friend who said, "You're saying no but you're losing", then told everyone it was consentual; The ex-friend who claimed I spread vicious lies about him no matter what the actual events were; Customers who insist they said their meal was for inside then said it was to go; all sorts of crap dwell inside, collecting under my anger baggage. There's no end to frustration and there seems to be an end to communication, no matter what technological advancements there are. Of all the ways to talk to people, we still won't listen.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]