[Sunday, Dec. 21, 2003 @ 10:36 p.m.]
[ What a Friggin' Year, Man! ]

2003 is quickly coming to an end. Reflect on this past year; its trials and tribulations. What have you learned from these experiences and how have you grown as a person?

Well, I did less socializing, became more of a recluse, hung out with my folks, my brother and my cousins: Basically I had a very bland life here in Winnipeg.

There was a month, June, where I dashed off to Vancouver to be with some friends and to do a duet in a drag king show, which was liberating. It grabs my heartstrings whenever I spot anything shot in and around Vancouver, or when I spot a familiar actor whether I know them or not. I've had a celibate year, and it wasn't a spiritual kind, even if I had moments to reflect on my choices in mattress mates and heart-breakers/dream-makers/love-takers. I try not to make a big deal over it but the body wants it less than it can do without. Thank goodness for my right hand is all I can say.

Although I've been a background extra for movies/TV/commercials in Vancouver, I'm lucky to do any out here. The industry is friendlier because the competition isn't so intense. I received a phonecall from another actor friend of mine this evening, who moved back home with his parents then jumped ship after over a couple of years. He said it best when he uttered, "When you move back home, you're 14 again". All this time, I thought I was losing whatever life lessons I had marked onto me. Awhile ago, before my mom went to bed, she reminded me to turn off the lights and unplug the christmas tree before I go to bed. Over a year ago, I didn't care or concern myself with stuff like that, or who to answer to, or when to do the chores and all those other responsibe things; I was glad to have my own place. Also, my friend reminded me that I was miserable and depressed when I was out there and that I sound better since resting up out here, so my sanity and health have improved. Speaking of health, I was still counting the weeks since last I smoked pot, but now I could care less about it.

I'm hoping that the next year brings me more opportunities. Also, next year will be my year, as in the Year of the Monkey, where I'll turn 36, so I've decided that it'll be an extreme year for me, as in nothing monotonous. I'm not in my 20's, so I don't have the same idealism or opportunistic streak like I use to; I'm a fulfledged adult geting older in the mirror. Only 3 grey hairs I've counted, and they're right up front too.

This was also the year I discoverd Diaryland and the world of online diaries/blogs/etc.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]