[Friday, Dec. 10, 2004 @ 6:59 a.m.]
[ What F#$@%ing Luck! ]

I'm still glowing after a few days ago.
My mom said she was proud when I told her, and she's the only one I've told until now.
On Tuesday, when I was on my way to an Actor thingy, I found a wallet on Main street. I picked it up, knowing someone would empty its contents and toss away such a lovely wallet [It looked like a woman't wallet but the person't name on the business card was a man's.] I knew that if I kept it, I'd get traced and my conscience would haunt me forever, so I phoned the owner on the business card, since there was no I.D. in it. I couldn't reach him, for his office was closed, but the next day, I called again and his secretary sounded glad and took my name and number for him to call me once he was off the other line. About 5 minutes later, he calls and agrees to meet me at work, since that's where I was off to. The wallet had almost $100, but there was an AmEx Platinum card, some membership cards and credit cards that indicated this guy had cash up the wazoo. I didn't want to get my hopes up in case he didn't reward me. As I was working, I looked out for a well-dressed man who wouldn't be a typical customer at Wendy's and as soon as he entered, before he asked for my name, I knew it was him. Very well-groomed and of course wearing a suit. "I'll be right back!" I said as I caught a glimpse of a white envelope in his hand. I almost squealed as I went and dug his wallet out of my purse. When I came back, we did the exchange, he thanked me and was off. I didn't get a good look at his face, but as long as he got his wallet was a good enough thing. I pocketted the envelope and felt it burning as I continued to work. It was too busy, but at one point when I had to make some more coffee, I took it out and opened the envelope: $100, 2 50's with his business card paperclipped to it and on the back it said, "Many Thanks, Chuffnutt." and a squiggle of his initials. I was bursting to tell someone, but I contained myself all day["A fool and his/her money are soon parted" and I didn't want to be one]. I managed to keep it a secret. I was tossing around ideas on what to do with this money, trying to think wisely. I remembered that I had to chip in $100 monthly to my mom to help with expenses, so the next morning when I gave it to her, I told her of what I did and she was thrilled. She even said she was proud of me! That made my day.
He paid my expenses for the month!
Why is it that bad experiences last a lifetime but good ones seem only momentarily, like afterglow? I'm almost paranoid that something bad will come kick me in the ass to balance this out. I don't want to think like that, but I want this moment to last, I want to stretch it out more just to ride this high I'm on.

While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]