[Tuesday, Apr. 08, 2003 @ 11:42 p.m.]
[ Work Is What You Do For Others, Art Is What You Do For Yourself. ]

My actor's group tonight,it was stimulating.

I had my scene from "Thelma & Louise", plus the whole script from, "Agnes of God", and it feels so good to bite into a role, savor the morsel, and feel it go down your throat. Coldly reading the scene in front of everyone, I was fumbling, but definitely not towards exstacy. The more times we did it. the stronger my acting muscle felt. I feel more motivated when surrounded by other actors. We get to talk about our craft, movies, the business aspects and we feel alive. Everyday life is so uninspiring. What do I look forward to when I wake up? Finding a beige job. Yeah, beige. Not an exciting job full of colors that are absolute eye-candy, not a black and white job that adds fulfillment to those in need, but a job that leaves you bored and cold. A job where you don't care that you could get fired, but can't quit because then you feel like a quitter: retail, restaurant, door-to-door, all these jobs I've had and wanted to scream because they'd sapped my desire to work. Work is what you do for others, Art is what you do for yourself. I rarely do Art but always do work. Such a dirty four-letter word. The only time acting feels like work is when I'm in a classroom, but other than that, when I get the chance, when I'm in a play or a short film, the word work doesn't occur to me.

It never will, as long as I follow my dream.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]